[Flash Fiction] The Bookfeet

“You’re really going to do it, aren’t you?”

“Yes, yes I am.” Jeff Fuller stood in front of his newly acquired property and took it all in. It was one story with duct tape on the windows, dusty wooden floors, and suspicious dark stains on the ceiling. He couldn’t help but feel proud of himself for the purchase.

Jacob Fuller, his younger orthodontist brother, stood next to him, pinching the bridge of his nose in exasperation. “You are an 80K-a-year accountant with a promotion around the corner and you’re just going to eff all that and open up a bookstore?”

“That is affirmative,” Jeff said, inhaling a deep, satisfied breath. “Do you smell that, Jakey?”

“Smells like your dreams dying a slow, asbestos-ridden death,” Jacob said as he grabbed his brother’s shoulders and wheeled him around to stare at him straight in the eyes. “Be honest with me, Jeffrey. Is this a midlife crisis? I always knew you were one crazy millionaire’s taxes away from snapping. Do you need a vacation? Is that what this is? We can go to New Zealand, you always wanted to go there, and see Hobbiton or the Shire or something.”

Jeff laughed and shrugged off his brother’s hands. “When we were kids, I was always the one buried in books and you were always the one who climbed trees and fell out of them. Growing up, accounting was my way of taking care of us after-well-you know. But you don’t need me to take care of you anymore. So let me have this one, okay Jakey?” Jeff patted his brother’s cheek and then bounced into the rundown building, chattering away in excitement.

“I’m envisioning thick curtains, like opera curtains here, and the cashier counter would be right here, by the window and-”

Jacob watched as his normally stoic, responsible big brother continued to bounce around like a kid in a candy store, and heaved a sigh in defeat. He dug something out of his pocket and marched up to his brother, pushing it in his hand.

Jeff blinked in surprise. “This is a check…”

“Restorations don’t come cheap, you crazy bastard. I guess it’s my turn to take care of you.” Jacob ignored his brother’s wide-eyed expression and pointedly fixed his eyes on a splotchy stain on the ceiling. “So do you have a name for this place yet?”

“Yep, I’ll be christening her ‘The Bookfeet’.”

Jacob swiveled his head to look incredulously at his brother. “The what?”

“The Bookfeet’, because books take us on grand adventures, because Frodo walked to Mordor and back on the grandest adventure of them all and-”

“For the love of-,” Jacob pinched the bridge of his nose again, turned on his heels and marched out of the property, muttering expletives under his breath in disbelief.

Jeff followed, grinning widely as he locked the shabby door and pocketed the key. He couldn’t wait to bring his ‘Bookfeet’ to life.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Want to know if Jeff was able to bring his Bookfeet to life? Or if this was truly a horrible mistake? Did he end up snapping and living as a hobbit in New Zealand? Read the next part to find out: another story titled ‘Between the Shelves‘.

Written for Terrible Minds’ Flash Fiction Challenge. We had to pick a random title and run with it. ‘The Bookfeet’ stood out to me immediately.

17 thoughts on “[Flash Fiction] The Bookfeet

  1. I love it! I love the LoTR references too 🙂 And I love the name of the store. Books do give us feet and new vistas to see. “Smells like your dreams dying a slow, asbestos-ridden death,” Jacob said” — love this too! Do beware of the “thats.” It’s a great story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha thanks Melinda!! A fellow LOTR fan, I take it?
      Argh the dratted Thats. You’ll probably continue to see them in my past stories since I never realized I used them so much >_<. But I’ll keep an eye out for them for future stories.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No worries, I had to delete 2ooo Thats from Curse Breaker: Enchanted and I am in the process of deleting several thousand of them from its sequel. I feel like the “that-enator” 😉 If you need “that” terminated, I’m your gal! 😉 yes I am a huge LoTR fan. Sadly, I came to it rather late. I didn’t read LoTR until the movie came out. But I fell in love with the books!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Haha! That-enator, I love it 😀
          As for LOTR, better late than never! I actually didn’t read the books until after I watched the movies either, but I did read the Hobbit waaaay back in elementary school lol (reading LOTR is akin to taking the trek to Mordor, methinks x_x)

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I love what you did with this prompt. When I read through Chuck’s prompts, this is one that also caught my attention, but I couldn’t really think of a plot that I liked. Your characters are great; very relatable, as I’m sure you’d struggle to find a writer anywhere who hasn’t considered giving up their 9-5 for opening their own book store, peddling in dreams and imagination. I’d do it in a heartbeat, in Jeff’s place, with full length opera curtains and all. Good show 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thank you Urban Spaceman! I admit, I’m still considering dropping everything and opening up my own cozy bookstore cafe, full length opera curtains and all 😀 I’m glad I stumbled on your blog thanks to Chuck’s prompts. Looking forward to connecting 🙂

      P.S. I saw you found me on fanfiction! You write fanfiction! You, Mr. Spaceman, have just become even awesomer.

      Like

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

