[Flash Fiction] When You’re Stuck In Life

We don’t particularly like this sidewalk. The concrete floors get in the way of our roots and the black gates shut us out from the sun’s nourishing rays. Life, however, is about being stuck somewhere you never asked to be stuck in and making the best of it.

Some people make it a little harder to be positive, like the naughty child who marched up to me this morning and ripped off a leaf from my stem. I flinched in pain, which I knew looked like I was swaying in a random breeze. Nobody knew it hurt when they plucked off our leaves or petals because they never saw our pain.

Some people make it a little easier, like the curious child who picked up my leaf and exclaimed that it was the most perfectly formed leaf ever. I beamed with pride knowing that even my broken pieces were beautiful.

No, we don’t particularly like this sidewalk, but we make the best of it.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Credit: Sonya @ 100 words

Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. Word count – 164.

12 thoughts on “[Flash Fiction] When You’re Stuck In Life

    1. I always wondered the same and always imagined that they felt the pain because all living creatures feel pain in some form or another right?

      Thanks for leaving a comment, PJ 🙂

      Like

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

