[Flash Fiction] Ten Minutes Ago

I stopped fighting ten minutes ago. I realized I was trapped fifteen minutes ago. I swerved off the road and into the polluted pond thirty minutes ago.

An hour ago, I was driving to my monotonous job in my beat up blue truck, like I had been doing for years. Ten years ago, I was dreaming about this moment where I thought I’d have made something of myself by now.

And now, now I’m trapped in my beat-up blue truck, drowning in a polluted pond, watching my life flash before my eyes.

If only I could say I had lived.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Credit: Pixabay
PHOTO PROMPT © Erin Leary
Credit: Erin Leary

Combined photo prompts for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers and Friday Fictioneers. 100 words exactly! 

51 thoughts on “[Flash Fiction] Ten Minutes Ago

    1. Thank you! So glad you liked it! Out of curiosity, why are you not fond of fusing two prompts? I personally love doing so because it pushes the creative juices even more and adds another layer of challenge, in my opinion.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great job fusing two prompts into one, Jade. This one’s very well told. Your first sentence took a stab right away and the last one just… did it. *curling myself for few seconds to reflect how my life has been*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it’s usually when your life is about to end that you realize just how much more you could have done with it. Truly a sad moment.

      Thank you for leaving a comment, I’m glad you liked the story 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Ameena! And yes, agreed, that is one of the saddest moments a person can have, in my opinion. The 100 words rule was tricky, especially when I had 101 words and I was here like GAAAH. ONE. PESKY. WORD.

      Like

    1. I wonder too. I’m sure there are many who are living the life they expect, but I’m sure there are also far many more of us who are stuck between the life they’re living and the life they want.

      Like

  2. Very sad to be in a life and death situation and you know you are going to die and when your life flashes before you – you see there wasn’t much of a life after all. Loved how you used the passing of time in your story. Wonderful story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agreed! One of the saddest things that can happen, I think, to live your whole life and then realize you hadn’t really lived at all. Thank you as always for reading and sharing your thoughts, PJ! *sends love your way* ^_^

      Like

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

