Day 1 Quote: Can You Hack It?

“You can’t force art? BULLSHIT. Can too! Sometimes, you gotta. Does that make me a hack? Then fuck it. I’m a hack. But I’m a hack who’s making art and you’re an artist who can’t hack it.”

-Chuck Wendig

I usually don’t post profanity, but sometimes, you need to use words most people don’t like to use to deliver a message most people don’t like to hear. This isn’t the first time I’ve posted a Chuck Wendig quote, but the guy knows what he’s talking about. Sometimes, we need a little bit of tough love.


Thank you Susan for nominating me for the Three Quotes Challenge.

jensen ackles
Yes, this Jensen Ackles gif is absolutely necessary.

Rules are simple enough:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you.
  2. Post one fresh quotation on three consecutive days.
  3. On each of the three days, nominate three folks who have not yet taken part to continue the challenge.

Usually, I don’t like events where you have to nominate other bloggers because it starts becoming very chain-email-esque, but I’m willing to make an exception in this case. One can never have too many quotes in their arsenal.

I nominate:

  1. rosemawrites
  2. lionaroundwriting
  3. angietrafford

Go forth, fellow bloggers and attack enlighten the blog-o-sphere with the best quotes in your arsenal!

For The Rest of the Challenge ~> Day 2: Stranger. Darker. Better. // Day 3: Writer vs. Brain Surgeon

18 thoughts on “Day 1 Quote: Can You Hack It?

  1. There is never an inappropriate time for a Jensen Ackles gif. Unless it’s a shirtless Jared Padalecki gif πŸ˜‰ Sometimes my art is so hacky that it’s literally a graphic design of me writing Holy shit, this is terrible, but so what? It’s my sketchbook. Great quote.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL! Or any Misha Collins gif, honestly. That guy cracks me up. Have you watched the latest Supernatural eps, Shannon?

      Hey, I’m sure even Van Gogh produced weird chicken scratch doodles from time to time. Important thing is you’re not giving up on your art πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, Misha is always welcome, too. Add Mark Sheppard in, he’s in almost every fangirl worthy show that’s ever been πŸ™‚ I’ve actually been loving this season so far (although Soulless Sammy will always be my favorite season *FIGHT THE FAIRIES*), I love The Darkness as an archenemy.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I agree about Mark Sheppard. He’s EVERYWHERE. And pffft Fight The Fairies. Ahh that’s a classic. My favorite seasons are still the first few, I feel like the jokes were funniest thing and it was a lot lighter and more fun to watch. The show is so heavy and dark now (not that it’s a bad thing). The Darkness is definitely one of my favorite archenemies. GIRL POWER πŸ˜€

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello there, Jade! I am no fan of profanities, too, but you surely made your point so well because of them! πŸ˜€
    I am glad I visited this post because this quote is wise!
    Thank you for nominating me! πŸ˜€

    Just a simple tip, I think you used the link: https://areadingwritr.wordpress.com/ to tag me, right? I have observed that when you do that, it doesn’t create a pingback or a notification for me that you actually have tagged me.
    It will result with the same thing if I tagged with you using: https://jademwong.wordpress.com/.
    I think WordPress doesn’t generate a pingback when we use the link of the main address. But if I linked using your about page: https://jademwong.wordpress.com/about-jade-m-wong/, it will create a pingback. πŸ™‚ (No it won’t create a pingback now because this is just a comment. But if it is a post it will. :))

    This is just a tip, my dear! Nonetheless, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omgosh. You’re absolutely right about the pingbacks! I never knew that about WordPress. Thank you so much for pointing that out. I’m going back to change the links so you and the other two bloggers can get pingbacks. I’m sending you a ton of pizza in gratitude for passing along that tip!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. PIZZAAA! I want a lot of cheeeese! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        Kidding aside, you are welcome! πŸ˜€ I just noticed it because I used to tag other bloggers using their web address. I am quite curious why I don’t usually get response. That is how I figured it out. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

