3 Quotes, 1 Day, Part 2

Last week, I did the Three Quotes Challenge, and today I’m doing a sequel to it because

1) I hoard quotes like Smaug hoards gold…

Smaug

2) Fellow blogger Annabeth was the first to nominate me weeks ago for the challenge but I completely forgot about it…

So, to honor Annabeth’s nomination, I give you: 3 Quotes, 1 Day, Part 2, with a love-inspired twist since it’s the last week of February.

QUOTE 1: WHAT IS FIRST LOVE?

kmhm

This quote from one of my favorite Korean dramas (Kill Me Heal Me) is also responsible for one of the most poetic descriptions of first love I’ve ever come across. Do you guys agree? How would you define first love if not this?

QUOTE 2: FAMILY BONDS

“The bond that links to your true family is not one of blood, but of respect and joy in each other’s life.”

-Richard Bach

Criminal Minds never fails to deliver quotes that stay with you long after the episode ends. This quote in particular reminds me that family is truly defined not by what runs in our veins, but by what dwells in our hearts.

QUOTE 3: SELF LOVE

Once when I was running,
from all that haunted me;
to the dark I was succumbing-
to what hurt unbearably.

Searching for the one thing,
that would set my sad soul free.

In time I stumbled upon it,
an inner calm and peace;
and now I am beginning,
to see and to believe,
in who I am becoming-
and all I’ve yet to be.

—Lang Leav—

Finally, a reminder from Lang Leav to love and take care of yourself first and foremost. That means learning to set yourself free, being true to who you are, and letting yourself become who you’ve always had the potential to be.

BONUS! (For All My Fellow Criminal Minds Lovers)

Because I believe every woman deserves to be spoken to the way Derek Morgan speaks to Penelope Garcia. (And because my inner fangirl could not scroll past this gif without going “Squeee!”)

criminal minds 2.gif

14 thoughts on “3 Quotes, 1 Day, Part 2

  1. Nice quotes, each very poignant!

    First love, huh? Never really thought about it. But I just took two minutes to do so, and I think first love is realising for the first time that somebody else’s happiness is more important than your own.

    But then the cynic/pragmatist in me points out that it’s true to a certain extent, and reminds of me my first ‘real’ relationship which I had to end for the good of my own mental health and emotional wellbeing. And then the cynic/pragmatist in me starts accusing me of buying into the ‘Happily Ever After’ Disney fairy tale ending and gosh darnit, how could you fall for that silly Disney stuff?

    This is probably why most of my stories are dark, why I enjoy torturing my protagonists, and why I really really really struggle to write romance and happy endings.

    Now I have to go and get a drink to cheer myself up 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. First love is indeed a tricky thing to define. I think that’s because first love is a combination of something entirely new and exciting where we have nothing but hope of a happily ever after, as well as an awakening when reality hits and we realize that first loves don’t always last. It’s the first time many of us feels that kind of heartache and loss, and it’s most likely the first time many of us have to make that distinction between what our brain thinks we want and what our heart truly wants. First loves are just a mess honestly lol.

      That aside, I find it interesting how you struggle with romance but I prefer to write happy endings lol. I feel like the world is dark enough as it is, so I’d like to create some light if I can.

      Whew. I’ll gladly get a (non-alcoholic) drink with you, Urban Spaceman!

      Like

      1. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good happy ending (as long as it’s well-written…), it’s just that when I try to write the stuff, my inner critic starts saying, “Are you sure this is is realistic?” and then somehow, everything I write seems overly contrived.

        But they do say that we’re our own biggest critics 😉 Here’s to happy endings!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Ahh, I understand what you mean. In the end, you just have to write whatever your instinct tells you. And I do agree that we are our biggest critics. I’d like to think you’re also your own biggest fan 🙂

          Happy endings! I’ll toast to that!

          Like

  2. ~snicker~ I may be an only child, but you are my fangirl soul sister…the SuperWhoLock (well, I’m not sure I remember you writing about Sherlock or not), but then you added foreign films (Korean and Japanese are the best/deepest/weirdest) AND Sheemar Moore ~le swoon~. There’s actually a video montage of all of Derek Morgan’s best tackle takedowns and I ain’t ashamed to say I’ve watched it more than once 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello, fellow fangirl soul sister! (I love the sound of that and don’t mind me if I start addressing you as such haha) I am indeed a SuperWhoLock fan (the day that crossover happens will be the day my fangirl dies and goes to heaven). What are you favorite kdrama/jdramas? Do you also watch chinese/taiwanese dramas? As for Sheemar Moore, I don’t see why you should be ashamed. Shemar Moore can just be sitting there grinning at the camera and I’d watch the hell out of that xD

      Liked by 1 person

      1. oh.my.gods. seriously, I would be throwing a viewing party if they ever did that crossover, I ain’t even kidding 😉 I frickin love Coffee Prince, that one is by far and away my favorite. Otherwise, I tend to lean more towards anime (like, A LOT of anime). If you have recs for good stuff to watch to throw out there, I’m all about adding things on my To F*ucking Do List.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. AHH Can I attend that viewing party? It’d be awesome! Pie and fish fingers with custard galore!

          Ooh, Coffee Prince is one of my faves too. Just a classic <3. I don't watch that much anime, but I read a ton of manga (currently catching on my the Attack of Titans craze lol).

          Like

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

