[Writer’s Quote Wednesday] My Baby’s Mad At Me

“But know this; the ones that love us never really leave us.”

-Sirius Black, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

MY BABY’S MAD AT ME

She’s mad at me for leaving our home,
She said I had promised to never leave her alone.

But baby, life happens, and when it does,
Gotta take a deep breath and trudge, trudge, trudge.

She cursed at me, the picture in the frame,
She spent nights awake, weeping with the rain.

But baby, no one weeps harder than I up here,
I, who wants nothing more than to dry your tears.

She cried again, kneeling on the grass,
Baby it’s time to move on, what’s past is past.

Just know I held on, I fought, I tried,
I lost but I’m okay, baby dry your eyes.

I know you’re lost and confused and scared,
I know we both thought I would always be there.

But baby you don’t need me to live your life,
I trust you, I know you, you’ll do just fine.

But if you ever need me, know I’ll always be around,
To help you take a step, to help you up from the ground.

So don’t be mad and give me a smile,
I’m still around, and I’ll be staying a while.

Don’t be sad, and always stay strong,
Because baby, I’ve been home all along.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Reposted for Writer’s Quote Wednesday, with another prompt of poetry. Good timing too because I’ve been dusting off my old poems. This week, I’ve decided to repost an old poem of mine, inspired by a friend’s loss.

22 thoughts on “[Writer’s Quote Wednesday] My Baby’s Mad At Me

  1. This was the one you wrote for me 🙂 I still feel very proud that you used me as inspiration for it. You did, didn’t you? I love it and when I read it, it brings back memories of a family once perfect that was torn apart when my Dad died. Dad will always be missed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, this was the poem inspired by you and your father. I finally put it up as you’d requested ages ago :p. I’m glad you still love it ^^. And I know your dad is always missing you too. And I know he’s proud of ya 🙂

      Like

  2. Jade, this is so beautifully written, so beautiful it brought tears to my eyes. I had to post on my Facebook. As I read it I had to remember that it was not being said by my friend who lost her husband unexpectedly 18 monts ago. Keep up the wonderful writing.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Grandma Nancy, for both your kind words and for sharing my poem on your Facebook. I appreciate it all so much. Please extend my best wishes to your friend…

      Like

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

