[Flash Fiction] Day 21

I know it’s only been three weeks, but I swear I can still feel you kicking inside me. The doctor said writing in a journal would help, but it doesn’t. It doesn’t help knowing that my own body rejected you. You were my precious baby girl, who was supposed to grow up with springy little curls, curious hazel eyes, and all the energy of a small tornado.

The doctor said it was a tragic accident, but there are no accidents. The doctor said time would make it easier, but that’s a lie too.

I miss you so much baby girl. Some nights, I swear I’m hugging you, only to wake up in the middle of the night and feel the emptiness flooding back. Some mornings, I swear I hear you running lightly behind me, giggling in that innocence that you would have, only to turn and hear the silence mocking me.

I wanted you so much. So much. But I wasn’t strong enough. I wasn’t strong enough to take care of you and bring you into this world, and now…now I don’t know if I’m strong enough to keep missing you.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


 Double prompt combo! Written for Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner and Sacha Black’s Writerspiration #82: Nostalgia that hurts. Word Count: 191.

29 thoughts on “[Flash Fiction] Day 21

  1. Jade – your words are very succinct and realistic. I had to read through the comments to see if this was fiction. For me, unfortunately, this is my reality. I lost my baby girl almost thirteen years ago, Your piece captures some of the emotion I felt. I wrote a series of three letters on my blog starting with Working Through the Pain with Chocolate and Chardonnay (https://fromthestickstothebricksandbackagain.wordpress.com/2014/06/06/working-through-the-pain-with-chocolate-and-chardonnay/) about my loss. As someone who has lived through such loss I must say you captured the essence of my emotions. Fantastic job.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my, I am so sorry to hear that. No parent should ever have to go through the pain of losing their child. I am truly sorry and beyond flattered at your kind compliment. To think that you felt I actually captured some of the emotion, thank you so much. I will definitely check out your letters. I can tell they’re going to be heartbreaking.

      Like

  2. And here I am waiting for “tomorrow”… Geez! I forgot our time difference! XD

    This is brilliance beyond words, Jade. The emotion you conveyed from a mother’s POV is just… *i couldn’t find the best word to explain*. It’s equally great with your initial angle, creepy to the extreme. This is heart-wrenching to the extreme!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

