[Poetry] Dear My Secret Love,

I hate having to hide you-
The one who makes me happy.
I hate having to pretend
Like you mean nothing to me.

What’s the point of all this money-
Of all this glory and fame?
When the price I pay is playing deaf
Whenever you call my name?

They all swear their loyalty,
They claim they care and love me,
They want what’s best for me, but they
Only love the musician they see.

Because when the music ends,
When the curtains fall,
There’s a man that remains,
They don’t know at all.

And all those songs they replay,
And all those lyrics they memorize,
They were written with you in mind,
You – the one they despise.

No, I refuse to hide you,
It’s time that they all see-
The other half of my music,
The one who loves me for me.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Day 3 of NaPoWriMo. Prompt: Write a poem/fan letter to a celebrity.

I put a twist on the prompt and instead, wrote a letter in the perspective of the celebrity. I may or may not have had fun fantasizing about a certain Big Bang member *inner fangirl giggles*. Ah, love under the endless scrutiny and boiling spotlight of the entertainment industry. 

20 thoughts on “[Poetry] Dear My Secret Love,

  1. oh dear Jade! This beautiful heartfelt poem reminds me of Where She Went, the sequel of Gayle Forman’s If I Stay. No fan can ever know what’s inside their idol’s heart. You told it beautifully my dear. ❤

    And… *kilig*!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. G. Dragon? Taeyang? Hahaha! Ooh and these words, Jade~

    Because when the music ends,
    When the curtains fall,
    There’s a man that remains,
    They don’t know at all.
    And all those songs they replay,
    And all those lyrics they memorize,
    They were all written with you in mind,
    You – the one they despise.

    …deep! Now I’m in deep contemplation. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Extremely beautiful and poignant. It’s true we don’t see or know the person who’s famous, much beyond what they choose to show in their public face. No fan can really know this person as his wife/girlfriend/lover does. And I love how you see the musicians wife (etc) ” is the other half of his music” and the one “who loves he for himself.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So it seems WordPress had placed your comment in Spam and I hadn’t noticed it until now. I’m so sorry Mandi!

      Thank you for your amazing feedback 🙂 And yes, it’s sad to see how some fans get so obsessed to the point where they truly believe they know their favorite musicians or celebrities inside and out when it’s really just an act. And it’s heartbreaking because it puts so much pressure on the celebrities they claim to love 😦

      Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

