[Poetry] Confession

I’m sorry, I lied
All those days that you cried

I’m sorry, I yelled
When you only meant well

I’m sorry, I broke
Years of trust turned to smoke

I’m sorry, I ran
And threw away your hand

I’m sorry, I burned
All the memories you returned

I’m sorry, I’m here
I promise I won’t disappear

I’m sorry, I’ll spend
The rest of my life making amends

I’m sorry, forgive me
Please say that you still love me.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Day 15 of NaPoWriMo. Prompt: Write a poem that incorporates the idea of doubles. I chose to write couplets. Can’t believe we’re halfway through and I’m actually on schedule! 

19 thoughts on “[Poetry] Confession

  1. I don’t care if you lied or yelled
    If you broke my heart or ran away
    If you burned our mem’ries or disappeared
    If you try to make amends, you are always forgiven… ❤

    ~Beautifully penned, Jade! Such a bittersweet piece, sigh. *turns on the radio*

    Liked by 2 people

  2. the pattern you hold to contributes to such a powerful message – i’m sorry, i’m sorry, i’m sorry for everything, i swear i’ll make it better. the repetition and occasional slant rhyme makes it such a delight to read. i’m so glad you included what the speaker did wrong along with the apologies – it makes the sincerity of i’m sorry all the more tangible.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

