The Secret Life of a Blogger

It’s been a millennium and a half since Bookish Girl in a Boring World first tagged me. And then, Life happened.

baymax 1

Better late than never. *Cracks knuckles* *Sips tea* Let’s get started, shall we?

1) How long have you been a blogger?

Well, let’s see, according to my archives… 

I’ve been blogging on-and-off since 2012 on prior blogs that have now turned to dust in The Cyberspace Graveyard, but Life has a way of kicking my butt and it’s only this year that I’ve finally been blogging regularly. I’d like to think that Life and I are now more reluctant dance partners than bitter enemies.

2) At what point do you think you will stop?

hp never

3) What is the best thing?

My blogging friends, of course. Interacting with you guys, getting inspired by your posts, and seeing all your likes and comments on my blog which shows that, despite my initial doubts about this blogging thing, I’ve managed to find a home here in my corner of WordPress. 

4) What is the worst thing?

Ironically enough, the actual act of blogging is the hardest thing. It’s not just finding time to tap away at the keyboard and write out a blog post. Then I have to figure out the tags and a catchy title and does it go in the Musings category or the Miscellaneous category? And why do I even have both categories to begin with? And-

gru gif

5) How long does it take you to create/find pictures to use?

FYI, I have no artistic skills to boast of. At all. If it were up to me to save the world and all I had to do was draw a decent stick figure, buh-bye world. Therefore, I rely on a life-saving website called Unsplash.com. Have I mentioned they’re a life-saver?

6) Who’s your book crush?

Who’s NOT my book crush? In the Harry Potter series alone, I crushed on Oliver Wood, Draco Malfoy, Viktor Krum, and Cedric Diggory, depending on which book you refer to. Spread the love!

7) Which author would you like to have on your blog?

The Harry Potter Queen herself. Maybe J.K. Rowling can do a guest post on my blog when we’re having our casual lunch.

8) What do you wear when you write your blog?

Comfort is key, my friends. My muse gets stingy with inspiration if she’s not draped in the softest cotton pajamas and the warmest socks. 

9) How long does it take you to prepare a post?

Depends on the post. I’m usually working on various flash fiction and poetry during my commutes to and from my Real Job so by the time I get on the computer, I have a final-ish draft of a post and then, see Ques 4 above.

10) How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

I’d like to think that I’ve “met” a friendly community within the blog-o-sphere. I know there are several bloggers whose blogs I’m big fans of and who I interact with on a regular basis. Have I or will I ever meet them in person? Probably not. But that doesn’t make them any less important than the friends who do know me in person. We’re all bonded by different things, and it’s a beautiful thing to be bonded by a love of blogging, or writing, or fandoms. Friendship is friendship, whether it’s a virtual one or not.

turtle

11) What do you think one should do to have a successful blog?

Depends on the blogger. Success is subjective. For some, it’s getting a million followers. For others, it’s having one or two loyal readers. You just gotta do you. 

12) Who do you tag?

Anyone who wants to do this and hasn’t done it before. Just link to my post so I can check out your post!

17 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a Blogger

  1. I want to give you a stanging ovation x round and applause for your wonderful answers! As I am learning a lot about you, I am also learning that we have a looot of common. (especially that Art part! HAHA). And I do write my posts while on a bus. 😀

    *high five*

    Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

