[Flash Fiction] Dinner with the Undead

“Say, do you mind loosening this rope just a tad so I can escape and take great pleasure in kicking your undead ass?” She smiled sweetly, refusing to wince as the thick cords rubbed her flesh, her blood smelling metallic and potent.

“I hate that she’s a talker.” The ugly one standing guard by the window spat in annoyance. Granted, they were all ugly. Skeletally tall with gaunt sunken faces. Whoever said vampires were hot had a seriously weird fetish.

“I think she’s delicious,” Ugly #2 smirked, brushing against the plump red rose as he leaned over the centerpiece. A black hue imbued the flower where he had touched it and rushed through the petals like a virus, until it was sullied and dead.

“Ooh, you killed His flower,” She crooned in a sing-song voice. “He’s-”

“He’s here!”

A blue glow lit the windows and flooded into the Gothic-style room, illuminating the crimson velvet décor and shiny wineglasses with an ominous tint.

She struggled uselessly against the stupid ropes. Great, Daddy’s home.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Credit: Graham

Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. Word count: 172. First time writing about vampires! 

Credit for the beautiful featured photo goes to Lauren Mancke

29 thoughts on “[Flash Fiction] Dinner with the Undead

  1. You had me with the title, but then you delivered a great story too! I think I prefer your ugly vampires to the glittery, melancholy ones. 😉

    I wish you’d had more room to show off our bound hero. I rather like that she’s a talker. I want to hear more of what she has to say (if Daddy gives her the opportunity) Really fun story, Jade (as always).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha thanks Chris!! I’m glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t think vampires and glitter go in the same sentence -_-. I wish I had more room to expand a bit more too, but alas, word limits! I didn’t realize how much fun I would have with this concept. I just might do a continuation in a future flash fiction somewhere. Possibilities are endless 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’d enjoy that. I feel like there’s a huge iceberg of a story underneath the tip that you showed us. Daddy sounds intimidating and what little I was able to glimpse of the protagonist gave me hope that she’s quite the spirited character.

        Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

