[Writers Quote Wednesday] Maybe I’m The Fantasy

“I have too many fantasies to be a housewife. I guess I am a fantasy.”

-Marilyn Monroe

When I was born, they had my life planned out for me. It was the life of all the girls that had come before me.

When I was a child, they taught me to say “please” and “thank you”. They taught me to slow down when I ran like the wind and to smooth out my yellow sundress because it shouldn’t be wrinkled.

When I was a teenager, they taught me that two cups of water for every one cup of rice was the most important math formula I needed to know. They taught me that I didn’t know what I wanted in a boy, and that I was not to worry because they knew the perfect boy for me when the time came.

When I was in my twenties, they taught me that it was time to outgrow my hobby for creative writing. They taught me to study the practical field, and that anything outside from my life plan was a fantasy.

When I was in my twenties, I taught myself to say “No”.

I taught myself to wear combat boots with my sundresses and to feel the wind against my hair. I taught myself that I had my whole life to figure out what I wanted in a boy, and that it was more important to figure out what I wanted for me first. I taught myself that loving to write was not a waste of my life.

Most importantly, I taught myself that my reality didn’t have to be the same as theirs. I taught myself that fantasies didn’t have to be avoided or feared, that they could be embraced instead. I taught myself to let my mind be open to a world bigger than our own, a world where dragons hoarded gold, where magic wands cast spells, and where I could be more than what they had planned for me to be.

I taught myself to be a fantasy in their world of reality.

What did you teach yourself?


Written for Writers Quote Wednesday Writing Challenge with the prompt of Fantasy. 

17 thoughts on “[Writers Quote Wednesday] Maybe I’m The Fantasy

  1. This is perfection. Having to grow up in an Asian household, I was told to be a doctor. So I taught myself how to follow my dreams, not my parents’ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

