[Poetry] The Last One

fb_img_1463051545539.jpg

A long time ago, I trusted them. I trusted them to take care of my creations, and to protect my saplings from harm. It never occurred to me that my creations would need protecting from them.

A long time ago, I gave them life. I gave them the cleanest air to breathe, and the freshest food. I gave them shelter from the elements and wood to burn for warmth. It never occurred to me that they would refuse to put out the fire.

A long time ago, I gave them a chance. Now, I know better. Now, I’m taking back my last surviving tree. Now, I’m taking back the life I gave.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Written for MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie Photo Challenge Prompt #113. My very first time writing something for one of their prompts!

I’m also experimenting with prose poetry. Does this even count as prose poetry? My muse says yes, but I’m a little more skeptical. What do you guys think?

24 thoughts on “[Poetry] The Last One

  1. Oh wow. This is deep and moving, Jade. And so true! Mankind has done nothing but live in avarice, acting as if we own the Earth- as if we’re on top of the food chain. “A long time ago, I gave them a chance. Now, I know better.” ~ I love this line of yours. So poignant, we should scream this out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maybe we should scream it out. Maybe then people will finally listen >_<. I really hope we can live to see the day when Mankind lives with nature again and not against it.

      Thank you very much, Maria!

      Like

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

