[Flash Fiction] 10:30. Rosewood Station.

I hope you know what you’re getting yourself into. But of course, he didn’t know. All he knew was the life he was leaving behind.

A life of pretending to be someone he wasn’t, of pleading with his parents to accept him.

“Ladies and gentlemen, the Rosewood Station-bound 10:30 train is now arriving.”

Ready or not. He adjusted his knapsack containing the only remnants of his life he had been able to salvage – some clothes and a passport his parents hadn’t thrown away.

Here I go.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


PHOTO PROMPT © J Hardy Carroll
Credit: J Hardy Carroll

Written for Friday Fictioneers. Word Count: 100 exactly.

25 thoughts on “[Flash Fiction] 10:30. Rosewood Station.

  1. Strange that I didn’t read this before. I think I missed a few!
    I really love this story. I see the protagonist as either gay, transgender or gender-queer, or perhaps just a struggling artist in a conventional family. In any case, I see him fleeing his uncomprehending family, who probably didn’t just support him, they rejected him outright. And so, taking what he can salvage, he takes his first step into the unknown.
    Good for him.
    Beautifully evoked sense of possibility, but also the hint of heartbreak.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s alright! A lot of bloggers to read & just not enough time!

      Thanks so much for your insightful feedback. I’m really glad you mentioned that the protagonist was either gay or transgender, etc, because the first draft of this story was actually much more detailed and I went a lot into his background and bonus points to you, I originally wanted to explore the protagonist as a gay character, but then word limits and so I made it more vague lol. But I’m really glad you somehow caught it regardless! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You conveyed it beautifully without too many words.
        I try and read everyone, but then, I have to deal with child, dog, schedule, other stuff, and then, I realize, suddenly, that I’ve neglected to read the work of some of my online acquaintances!
        So many wonderful bloggers, so little time!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. A sad story but hopeful in the end. His parents won’t accept him, let him be happy so it makes sense if he’s old enough, to leave, start fresh, and find support and people who will like him for who he is. Well written Jade.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

