[Flash Fiction] Afterlife

The scenes unfolded like a movie in a luxury theater. There were cushioned seats, surround sound amplified by the domed ceiling, and no phones ringing during the good parts.

Some scenes I remembered vividly, like the first time my parents took me to the beach. I stayed in the water until I turned into a prune, and vowed to the ocean that I’d return as a mermaid.

Some scenes I forgot completely, like that time I passed a girl in the mall and complimented her pixie haircut. I didn’t know she was a cancer survivor whose hair had just begun to grow back. My compliment had made her day.

To me, those scenes were just filler moments, but I learned now that a filler moment in one person’s life is a life-changing one in another’s.

“So?”

I turned to the angel sitting beside me. “I never thought of my life as important before.”

“We never do.” The angel unfurled her wings, all six feet of incandescent white. “It’s time to make your choice, dear.”

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Credit: TJ Paris

Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. Word Count: 174.

To find out what her choice was, read My Heaven

Credit for the beautiful featured photo goes to Rodion Kutsaev.

31 thoughts on “[Flash Fiction] Afterlife

  1. Oh, a lovely, lovely story, full of goodness and light!
    I loved this:
    “To me, those scenes were just filler moments, but I learned now that a filler moment in one person’s life is a life-changing one in another’s.”
    You sound like you are a very kind, loving person, full of attentiveness to other people’s needs!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nicely done, Jade. You open with a vague reference that leaves the reader wondering what’s happening and slowly draw back the curtain. You’ve got some great lines here too.

    “…vowed to the ocean that I’d return as a mermaid.”

    “To me, those scenes were just filler moments, but I learned now that a filler moment in one person’s life is a life-changing one in another’s.”

    Those are pure gold. Fantastic job!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I thought that line was not only a clever way to describe a child’s wonder with the sea, but also a bit of foreshadowing to the conclusion (I’m leaving open the possibility of reincarnation). I don’t know if this was your intention, but if not, you can pretend it was (as I often do) :p

        Liked by 1 person

  3. This is very deep jade. The idea that a filler moment in our lives could be a defining moment in another person’s life. It does indeed mean then, our life is important, even if only for small moments we have no idea about. I wonder about her choice and what exactly it is. Nice write Jade, thoughtfully done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Mandi. Yes, I think it’s an idea that holds very true. I’m sure there are so many moments in our lives that we disregard as inconsequential, when in reality our interactions have made someone else happy 🙂

      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

