[Flash Fiction] Today, We Celebrate Life

In a Manhattan venue on the edge of the East River, the last fashion show of esteemed designer Alexia was underway. 

Not that any of the guests knew it was the last show. No, that knowledge – or lack of – was Alexia’s final gift.

Stepping onto the stage in her signature violet pumps and serene smile, Alexia carefully chose her last words for the world that was tuned in to only her.

“Ladies and gentlemen, today’s fashion show will not only be a celebration of beauty, art, style, and creativity.

Today’s fashion show will also be a celebration of life.

Life, in all its vibrancy, in all its ups and downs.

Life, in all its glitter and sparkle and ridiculously bright neon t-shirts.

Life, in all its black winged eyeliner and smoky eyeshadow, oversized sweatshirts and worn-out sneakers. 

Today, ladies and gentlemen, we celebrate not the act of living, but the act of being alive.”

The next morning, the world woke to the frantic headlines of Alexia’s sudden death.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Credit: Barbara Taylor

Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. Word Count: 170. 

28 thoughts on “[Flash Fiction] Today, We Celebrate Life

  1. I tend to think like Lisa. We assume she committed suicide and if so, we don’t know her motivation. Perhaps she was ill and wanted to end her life with dignity? That would be my first guess based on her statement at the fashion show.

    We all die, and she at least took the time to savor what life she’d led. While this was rather chilling in one sense, I found it beautiful in another. Another fantastic piece from the wonderful mind of Jade Wong. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Perhaps indeed! I mentioned in a comment to another blogger that I left it purposely vague because I wasn’t sure what I wanted her intentions to be. It’s been really interesting seeing everyone’s interpretations of it. As always, I love your insightful feedback. It all goes to show that one should never judge another, because we truly never know what’s going on. Thank you Chris for another fantastic comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooh. this is thought-provoking and intriguing. Somehow, she killed herself? But I am also looking at the possibility that she has a gift of seeing the future and she somehow know she will die?

    Great piece, Jade!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Possibilities are endless! Like I mentioned in a comment to another blogger, I’m not sure if it was suicide or perhaps she was suffering from a disease that she kept secret or perhaps it was just one of life’s sudden things, like a heart attack from out of nowhere. I wasn’t sure where I wanted to go, so your guess is as good as mine lol

      Thank you kindly, Rosema! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That was such a moving and beautifully written story, Jade!
    I didn’t think she had killed herself, though, when I first read it. I thought she’d just suffered some sudden heart-attack.
    Now, reading the comments above, I wonder: Why would she kill herself? Why those words the night before she killed herself?
    Or, did someone else kill her?
    You have left me wondering.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll be honest, I’m not sure if it was suicide or perhaps she was suffering from a disease that she kept secret or perhaps it was just one of life’s sudden things, like a heart attack from out of nowhere. I wasn’t sure where I wanted to go, so you’re not the only one who’s left wondering LOL.

      Thank you dear for the lovely comment & for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I think she really meant every word that night. I wonder what happened? Sigh. Life and its uncertainties are really something, no? One day were celebrating life, the next day were mourning death. Well-crafted, Jade. Thought provoking. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

