[Flash Fiction] Burnt Edges

The world was on fire, and I didn’t lift a finger to stop it.

Because I was the one who lit the match.

“I don’t feel like we’re doing the right thing anymore,” my companion said, as he watched billions of screaming people desperately trying to run from the flames. Like cattle with no shepherd. Or cattle with their heads chopped off.

“We’re long overdue for a cleansing,” I replied, from my cross-legged perch, looking down at what I’d done. Flames licked the ocean surfaces as if they were slathered with oil. Entire countries were engulfed by infernos, becoming nothing more than wisps of ash. The edges of the world had disintegrated into smoky embers.

“But…the people. It doesn’t seem right.”

I fixed my companion with a resolute gaze. “When the smoke clears, we’ll build anew. New people, new beginning, new world. And this time, hopefully, will be the last time.”

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Written for Sacha Black’s Writespiration #90: Burnt Edges and coincidentally, for today’s Daily Prompt: Rebuild.

I think I missed the deadline though…butdan rad tried

30 thoughts on “[Flash Fiction] Burnt Edges

    1. Ahahaha, all of a sudden I imagine a bunch of crazy writers, cackling madly, “BURN IT ALL!”
      Thank YOU for another interesting prompt. I do love your biweekly flash fiction prompts 🙂

      Like

  1. This one’s a great purge, Jade! When I think about the world news, I love to agree with your idea of “cleansing”. BUT then again… I guess my heart’s still mushy so I’d prefer starting anew in Mars and leaving these ill muggles behind! Great one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it does seem tempting sometimes to just wipe the slate clean, but I like to remember that there is still lots of good in humanity. Haha! Or alternative idea: send all the muggles to Mars and we’ll stay on Earth and take care of this beautiful planet ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmmm….this person sounds a bit insane. I don’t think people get to decide when too do the cleansing, we call that ‘genoicide’ and I imagine, when you’re cleansing most everyone, it’s especially wrong. She or he is not God, therefore, what a horror and what a tragedy, it was even in the flood. Great write Jade.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yup, I agree that people don’t get to decide when to do the cleansing, but I wonder what would push someone to the edge the they feel the world can’t be saved. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Mandi 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

