[Poetry] A Single Teardrop

A single teardrop fell from the sky.
It tumbled through the air.
It fell onto my hand and surprised me,
When it stayed quite still there.

I peeked into the teardrop
And gasped at what I saw,
Beautiful tales of suffering and dreams,
Of life and all its flaws.

It told stories of sadness, stories of hope,
And stories of yearning to be free.
It told stories of struggling to prove people wrong
And of making your own destiny.

Then suddenly the teardrop became a small puddle,
As if it had no more to say.
Then another teardrop fell from the sky,
And on it went in this way.

Now whenever I happen to see
Teardrops falling from the sky,
I always stop to gaze and listen
To all the stories hidden inside.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Reposting this poem from 2012. One of my personal favorites. 

Credit for the beautiful photo goes to Aaron Burden

43 thoughts on “[Poetry] A Single Teardrop

  1. Wooow!! When are you releasing your book of poems? No , I am serious !! You have such an amazing talent Jade. I guess you could make it probably a story and poetry combined book? Like you can write a story and take a subject out of it and write a poem on that. You are absolutely brilliant at this ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg that is probably one of the most amazing compliments ever <3! Thank you so much for your vote of confidence that my work is good enough for a poetry book. I'm actually considering it now. I hope you'll stick around to see what happens 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am sorry I am a lil late in replying to your comments..Was caught up in something..Like celebrating my birthday and our anniversary which falls on consecutive days 😀 😀
        I surely plan to stick around as much as the Lord wills 🙂 I am not a regular but I love writing and I don intend to let go of that 🙂 I am sure your plan of releasing a book will get rave reviews 🙂 All the best ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        1. No worries at all about the delay in replies. We all have lives outside of our blogs that take precedent. Congratulations on the dual birthday and anniversary celebration!!! That’s so exciting and definitely a great reason to enjoy life outside of the blog :D!
          I look forward to sticking around your blog as well ^_^ Thank you for the support, Minaxi ❤

          Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

