Weekend Coffee Share: A June Pep Talk

You: *waves* You made it! I was beginning to think it would just be me and my coffee today.

Me: *plops into chair* Was held up by the MTA. Major subway delays and there was this ridiculous crowd of angry people pushing against each other for any train that came. I half expected someone to shout “THIS IS SPARTA”. I hate New York.

You: No, you don’t, you love New York.

Me: Ugh, I do love New York.

You: You’re like an old married couple with the city. There’s always something to bicker about – MTA delays, insane crowds, one stop down from Times Square and all of a sudden, you’re in a dangerous neighborhood – but at the end of the day, you’d never divorce New York.

Me: Love through sickness, health, and sweaty people in packed trains. Nothing like the MTA during a summer rush hour. 

You: That’s right, we passed the Summer Solstice! June really flew by, didn’t it? 

Me: This whole year really flew by. How did we get to the halfway point already? I’VE ACCOMPLISHED NOTHING.

You: Jade, I think you need a pep talk. 

Me: A what now-oh!

By Hannah at calmdownmorrissey.tumblr.com

You: Every day is another day you get to spend doing something you really love: writing.

Me: *rolls eyes* Right, because it’s sooo easy to be a successful author or poet or screenwriter. Because there aren’t thousands of other people more talented than me, more luckier than me, who are trying to make a name for themselves too.

You: I’m not talking about thousands of other people. I’m talking about you. I care about YOU. I’m here with YOU. I have a quote by a self-published author that I want to share with you.

“Writing is the ultimate democratic artform. If you’re reading this post, you’ve probably written an email. If you’ve written an email, you can write a book. It might not be the Next Great American Novel, but it would be yours. If you’ve written a book, you can write a better one. If you’ve written a better one, then please don’t stop because I want to read everything you dream up. When it comes to storytelling, we are the only things standing in our way.” – Eliot Peper

Me: Okay…I get what you’re saying.

You: Who knows how many summers we’re going to get? But this summer, this summer is here right now, and it’s your choice what you’re going to do with it. So what are you going to do?


Popping back in to Weekend Coffee Share, a cozy weekend blogging event hosted by Diana at Part Time Monster Blog

To see the artist Hannah’s other pep talks, here’s a nifty tumblr link.

For Eliot Peper’s entire post on writing, self-publishing, and evil monkey armies, see this link here

Credit for the beautiful featured photo goes to Olu Eletu

20 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: A June Pep Talk

  1. so I am looking for my comment here and I remembered I used my mobile when I did so I am not surprised that it was not posted. -_-

    nonetheless! I remembered this piece because I read this while I am on a bus towards home and this coffee date plastered a smile in my face. you really have a way in my heart, Jade! That is because you are so honest, hence, so relatable! 🙂 Love that quote a loooot! Which reminded me that I should not be too scared to start my dream book (though I still haven’t started it yet. HAHA)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh technology and it’s many quirks lol.

      I’m glad I was able to put a smile on your face :)! Personally, I’ve always felt like honesty was the best policy. I’m glad you enjoy my silly little talks ^_^ And yes, Rosema! I’ve yet to start my dream book too. I’ve heard starting is the hardest part so hopefully, once we take the plunge, we’ll be done with our dream books before we know it lol. Good luck with all your writing!! I’m looking forward to it 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah. We share the same sentiment, Jade! honesty should always be the best policy. 🙂
        And… I have the same hopes. That when we start we can finish it smoothly! 😀 Cheers, Jade! I am looking forward to your book, too!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a nice coffee share post. You are correct is saying where did the time go. June is almost over. It was cold here and this week it decided to be so hot. It is forecasted to be 103 in 2 days. What happened to gradual warming weather. Before you know it summer will be over.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ahh, it’s been pretty hot in my side of the world too, although we have yet to reach 103 (thank goodness). I’m sending you lots of snowy thoughts, haha! Thank you for reading Connie 🙂

      Like

  3. Thanks for the pep talk. I’m definitely following up those links. I actually sent off my first submission to an online publisher last week. I forgot to mention it in my coffee share but getting that sent off, even if it doesn’t get published, was a huge step forward and need to maintain the momentum.
    Good luck with your writing!
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you liked the links! And ooh how exciting. Good luck on the submission!! I hope you hear good news 🙂 I absolutely agree with you as well, getting the submission sent off was a huge step as a writer. Just don’t give up, no matter what happens. I’ll be keeping an eye on your writing, Rowena 😉
      Thank you for your support!

      Like

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

