[Poetry] Locked

He asked me how I forgot him so quickly.

I replied, “I put our memories in this box and locked it with a key.”

“I see,” he said as he touched the warm mahogany wood. His fingers, coarse and strong, brushed against the lid where the metal padlock stood. With a click, the lid opened. “I thought you said it was locked with a key?”

“It was.”

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Written for Word High July, a month-long blogging event hosted by two awesome bloggers I’m happy to call friends, Rosema & Maria.

July 4th’s Word: gunita (v.) memory or recollection.

Credit for the beautiful photo goes to Chris Anderson

29 thoughts on “[Poetry] Locked

  1. Awwe!! He was the key after all. I’m not sure if this should break my heart or fill it with delight. Gaaaah!! It’s delight then. I’m giving this a happy ending in mind. ❤ ❤ ❤ Awesome tale as always, Jade!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, I suppose not. Some memories are stubborn that way and won’t stay locked no matter how hard we try. Thank you for the read and the comment, Mandi. I always enjoy your thoughts 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

