[Poetry] The Song That Brings Death

The first note gave way to the first scream.

The bows pulled against the cellos
As the knives pulled out of the bodies.
The chorus rose and fell,
As the corpses thudded one by one.
The drums hung in the air,
As foul as the stench of the massacred.

The last note faded, but they would never forget.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Written for Word High July, a month-long blogging event hosted by two awesome bloggers I’m happy to call friends, Rosema & Maria

100% inspired by the Red Wedding in Game of Thrones, which I’ve just watched because I’m finally catching up on the show, and I am now traumatized for life. 

July 10th’s Word: Indak (v.) To dance in time with the music. 

32 thoughts on “[Poetry] The Song That Brings Death

  1. I knew it! I knew it! You had me at the very beginning, Jade. This is brilliant, really! Not because I’m a GoT & ASoIaF fangirl but because I love the way how you play with your imagination through your words. 💕

    P.S. I remember a time (NaPoWriMo maybe) when you told me you haven’t watched GoT or read ASoIaF. Sooo glad you’re catching up! 😁🎉❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Coming from a Got and ASoIaF fangirl, that comment means a lot :D! Yes, during NaPoWriMo, I hadn’t watched the series. I started this past weekend because my best friend loves GoT so she finally convinced me to watch and now I AM ADDICTED ❤ I just watched the episode with Sansa's rape scene last night…that was extremely disturbing and I had to take a break from watching any more episodes until I could process that scene 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You won’t believe, but I saw this episode today for the first time this afternoon and have been upset about it ever since. Your poem made me tear up a little. I think Robb would’ve made a great King of the north 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

