[Poetry] The Moment It Was All Worth It

There’s a little tug at the corner of her lips,
When I tell her a joke and my stomach does flips.

She bursts out laughing, uninhibited and free,
I would do so much, just to make her happy.

She tells me he’s amazing, and I pretend not to feel,
The tears in my heart that for years I’ve concealed.

I wonder if he knows how to treat her right,
I wonder if she knows how she keeps me up at night.

Then one day she comes to me with tears in her eyes,
I’m speechless as she starts to apologize.

There’s a little tug at the corner of my heart,
When she tells me it was always me from the start.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Written for Word High July, a month-long blogging event hosted by two awesome bloggers I’m happy to call friends, Rosema & Maria

Another combo! Can’t believe we’re almost at the end of this event. 

July 27th’s Word: yugto (n.) a fundamental transition or development of a story or phenomenon

July 28th’s Word: halakhak (n.) a loud, uninhibited laughter

31 thoughts on “[Poetry] The Moment It Was All Worth It

  1. Heartbreaking yet beautifully done, Jade. I’m glad it ended with a positive note. BUT I have to admit, my hopeless romantic self is undecided.

    When she said, it was always him from the start… why must there be someone in between in the first place?

    Haha. Here I go again overthinking. Love really is something… no? ❤

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Fickle! YES, that makes it terrifyingly amazing and beautifully chaotic. Geez. I guess we’ll never get to understand it unless we’re in it, Jade. Which, in my case, will probably take a century. HAHAHA!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Nonsense! Love comes when we least expect it, when we’re not looking for it. So just live your life and enjoy it to the fullest and one day you’ll blink and there will be a gray-eyed gorgeous hunk of a man blinking back 😉

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Oh dear!!! Looking forward to that gray-eyed gorgeous hunk man then (in plain white T and denim jeans, please ). Haha! I’m not particularly looking for anyone yet. It’s my friends who are TOO pushy. Thanks, Jade. ^^

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, yeah, but when inspiration strikes, it strikes lol. Still, I think I’ll be switching it up for my next and last entry for this blogging event. Thanks for reading & commenting, Fionn ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

