[Short Story] The Letter In The Ziploc Bag

It was lying smack in the middle of the path, half shrouded by leaves, and I almost tripped on it. Sending a mental scolding to the person who littered, I dusted the leaves off the Ziploc bag, figuring I would throw it out in a nearby garbage can.

That was when I saw the letter. A letter? In a Ziploc bag? In the middle of my jogging route? Universe, are you trying to tell me something?

Intrigued, I took a closer look. The letter was in decent condition, protected by the bag, and I didn’t even have to take it out to read it.

To You,

My name is Evan Raye. I’m 23 years old. At least, I think I’m still 23. If it’s not December yet, then I’m still 23. Anyway, if you’re reading this, that means I got a one-way ticket to the Astral Plane via Death Row. Don’t freak out. And please, don’t stop reading. If you ask about me, then you’ll hear that I was a child psychopath convicted of murdering my sister. But I’m not! I mean, I had friends, and I watched Lord of The Rings marathons – full extended versions, of course. I had a life. I was going to be a director. I was going to meet Peter Jackson one day. And then, the police came and said I was being arrested for killing my sister and well, now I’m dead, I suppose. You, whoever you are, I don’t know why you have this letter, I don’t even know where this letter is going to end up. All I know is I was framed. I didn’t kill my sister, I swear. But no one would listen to me. Please, if you’re still reading, help me. Help me clear my name. And more importantly, help me find my sister’s real killer. The other pages in this bag contain everything I can remember, every theory, every suspect, every piece of information I can give you. Thank you. Whoever you are.

P.S. My sister’s name is was Nixie. Nixie Jean Raye. She was 4 years old.

I took a deep breath and felt goosebumps all over. I turned my gaze up and stared at the cloudy autumn sky. Was Evan Raye staring back at me right now? Universe, this is a helluva message. I gingerly tucked the Ziploc bag under my arm and started to jog my way back home. First, I was going to do some research.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Reposting this story that I first wrote 2 years ago for a writing 101 prompt on WordPress. I’ve been doing a lot of cleaning on this blog and it’s surprising what I find.

Credit for the beautiful photo goes to Sebastian Unrau

35 thoughts on “[Short Story] The Letter In The Ziploc Bag

  1. Oh wow I love that you reposted this right around the same time that Rosema and I both wrote pieces about ‘Nixies’. How cool is that? Did you/are planning a follow up piece to this one? I love the writing; I was right inside her head. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Melinda! Yeah I noticed that, with the Nixie connection. Great minds eh? 😉 And actually, I am playing around with expanding this into a full-length novel (along with a few other ideas) to see what works. I’ve never committed to a novel before, so eeep kinda exciting, kinda terrifying LOL. I hope you’ll be popping by my little corner here often and I’ll of course be checking you out on your blog 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my, my Jade! You’ve got to tell us more. Please. I’m sucker for thriller (I believe most of us here are). 😀 I wish you all the best with your plans and, yes, I love the makeover. ❤

    P.S. This story has a Thirteen Reasons Why vibe to it. You do know how to send us chills.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, my dear Maria, for the vote of support!! I really appreciate it and it means the world ❤ Like I told Rosema, this is one of a few ideas I am currently seriously playing around with to see if I can turn it into a full-length novel. I hope I don't disappoint with my future plans 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

