[Poetry] Three Months

One Month
The sun is shining, but I can’t see it.
The dirt’s been scrubbed, but I still feel it.
The room is silent, but I still hear him.

Two Months
I remember the rocks shredding my skin, but he’s okay.
I remember the blood staining my legs, but he’s okay.
I remember my screams bouncing off him, but he’s okay.

Three Months
And the world still turns for him.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Written in response to three things:

1) Brock Turner’s release from jail after only serving three months

2) Yana Mazurkevich’s photo series project, “It Happens”

3) Yana Mazurkevich’s previous photo series, “Dear Brock Turner”

For those who aren’t aware of Brock Turner and the controversy surrounding him: Brock Turner is a former swimmer at Stanford University who was convicted of sexually assaulting an unconscious victim. The sentence, for those convictions, should’ve been about 14 years in prison. Instead, the judge overseeing his case sentenced him to six months, and earlier this month, Brock Turner was released after only serving three.

Brock Turner’s case is just the latest in a series of examples of how inequality and privilege still plague our justice system, and our world. I ponder this: is Brock Turner the kind of man we want our future sons and nephews to embody? Is this the kind of world we want our future daughters and nieces to grow up in? Is this really the best we can do?

46 thoughts on “[Poetry] Three Months

  1. When I read the news, oh, it broke me. I can’t believe the injustice that has been carried out by a system which is supposed to be the most Just of them all, “the court”. Thank you for writing a poem on this Jade. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This makes such a deep statement with the situation. I had seen this in insta and obviously you know how much huge a fan I am of you..But given the context, it stands out even more profound and powerful. The world is so unfair isn’t it..I had read the case too and reeled in the injustice of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, this case just really stayed with me, the injustice, the tragedy, and the horrific details. Knowing that such cruelty still exists in this world makes me grateful that positivity rays of sunshine such as yourself, Minaxi, exist as well to negate the negativity. Thank you for your love and support, my friend!

      Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree with you completely. Nobody knows if Brock will regret or is regretting his actions, only he does. I just wish there was more justice for the victim: her entire life has been turned upside down, not just because of what Brock did to her, but also because of the long trial process and the media attention. She deserves so much better. I also agree, I would hate to be in the vicinity of such a man.

      P.S. Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed the poem 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

