[Flash Fiction] Revenge

Leaning against a metal door, he paused to examine his scorched arm. The fire had eaten through god knows how many layers of his skin. Now that his adrenaline was slowing, he was finally registering the throbbing pain shooting up his arm.

A loud crash followed by a thunderous gust of wind echoed behind him. They were close.

Placing his uninjured hand on the floor, he willed the earth beneath to protect him. Obeying him, the ground cracked open and he jumped into a tunnel. If he was going to die, he would do it on his own turf.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


PHOTO PROMPT © Amy Reese
Photo: Amy Reese

Written for Friday Fictioneers. It’s been a while since I popped by. 

A standalone sequel to Suffocate

51 thoughts on “[Flash Fiction] Revenge

  1. Yikes those burns sound awful. I never realized how bad having severe burns was until I saw onGrey’s Anatomy last season, how painful, utterly painful removing the burnt skin was so new skin could form. This was done layer by layer. A process before any type of plastic surgery. Your story made me think of this. I hope your character lives, but better to die on his own terms, not hunted, I agree. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh god, and that is the reason why I can’t watch medical dramas x_x. Yes, I think a lot of people don’t fully understand the pain and severity of burns. Glad my character helped you make a connection to Grey’s Anatomy! Thanks Mandi 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep, all of my stories are standalone, even if they’re supposed to be sequels, except for my Charmed Fanfiction lol. I think making the stories standalone makes it easier for everyone to read 🙂
      Glad you liked this! I am having a lot of fun with these characters, so you just may see more of them.

      Liked by 2 people

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

