Farewell…And Hello

October is about trees revealing colors they’ve hidden all year.

People have an October as well.

-Jim Storm

FAREWELL

Through my bedroom window, I see business people dressed in sharp suits, the men with immaculate ties and the women with their pumps click-clacking on the concrete.

Through my bedroom window, I see children with swinging ponytails and backwards caps leaving a trail of ice cream that sizzled in the heat. 

Through my bedroom window, I see the air muggy with heat, and the tempers barely holding together under the vengeful gaze of the sun. Everyone is too hot, too sweaty, too grumpy.

But me?

Tucking my feet under me, typing away at my laptop, and people-watching comfortably as the air conditioner blows cool air around my room, this is how I spend my summers.

While the city I love trudges on, the sun’s rays bouncing off every metallic surface and blinding any poor passerby who gets caught in the reflections, I wrap myself in an air-conditioned cocoon, waiting until Autumn makes its way around again.

AND HELLO

The wind carries whispers of cooler days and chillier nights. It blows against the business people heading to work, the men’s ties stubbornly pinned down and the women’s coats wrapped a little tighter around their dresses. 

The wind teases like a child asking for attention, tugging at strands of hair and yelling “catch me if you can!” as it runs away with a baseball cap.

The wind breathes new life into the muggy air, replaces handkerchiefs with soft scarves and tempers with smiles under the welcome warmth of the sun.

And me?

Switching the air-conditioner off, pulling into a comfy sweater, and taking a deep breath outside my bedroom window, I invite the Autumn wind in to play. 

When the city I love shifts from hot yellow to champagne gold, from fiery red to rich auburn, I wrap myself in an Autumn wind, and I step out of hiding to live once more.


Happy October, everyone! Can you tell? It’s the beginning of my favorite time of year.

The time of comfy hoodies, crinkly golden leaves, white blankets of snow, and mugs of hot chocolate.

44 thoughts on “Farewell…And Hello

  1. Lovely to meet my season twin ;)!
    I really enjoyed reading your post and being able to see Autumn through other eyes!

    Autumn: the most beautiful time of the year!

    Carla, xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Linda Ann, welcome to my little corner ^_^ I just joined OctPoWriMo as well, so I’ll pop by your blog to check out your poetry! I’ve got my first poem scheduled for later today. Would love to hear what you think of it.

      Like

          1. Thank you kindly! Had a had a daughter, she most certainly would have been named Autumn. By extension, embracing my writer within, whom I am embracing with loving arms – Grace and Space – deserves to be that daughter I would have lavished lovingly with support, encouragement, and praise 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Pour me some of that hot chocolate, please. And make it dark, if you will. ^^
    Happy to know you’re enjoying this time of the year, Jade.

    P.S. Will be looking forward to some snapshots on your IG! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

