What Happens Now?

MOCHA

My little boy looked at me and I wondered how a nine-year-old could have galaxies in his eyes.

“Momma,” he whispered and I shushed him, hugging him to my chest. I caressed the soft mocha skin of his cheek.

“It’ll be alright, little one. Nothing will happen to you.” Was that true?

I didn’t know. All I knew was the love I saw in my little boy’s eyes and the lengths I would go to protect it. 

MY SISTER AND I

My sister and I saw our life flash before our eyes.

Pledging allegiance to the United States flag in elementary school. 

Knowing the history of our founding fathers better than the history of our native country.

Only understanding when we were older what it truly meant to be undocumented immigrants.

My sister paused from highlighting a sentence in her Anatomy textbook. Would she still be allowed to study medicine?

I thought of my CPA license. Would I still be allowed to pursue accounting?

I didn’t know. All I knew was that our parents brought my sister and I to this country because they wanted us to have the freedom they never had, and we would not let their love go to waste.

TWO GIRLS IN LOVE

We planned to be married next fall, her ivory lace dress against the backdrop of gold and crimson. 

Our marriage was one of the reasons we moved to New York. The other was because she was a city girl at heart. Personally, I was always a farm girl, born and bred with miles of green space, but love was about seeing her happy. There was nothing more freeing to me than her smile.

The morning we woke up to the news, her fingers went instinctively to her engagement ring. Our silence spoke our worries. Would we be safe here?

 I didn’t know. All I knew was that our love was something no one could ever take away.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Written for Monday Morning Melts #2 and inspired by the aftermath of a newly elected president here in my side of the world. I believe love will always trump hate.

mmm-3

Does your soul need a little tickle? Does your Monday need a little brightening up? Won’t you join us then in Monday Morning Melts, a new weekly feature hosted by myself and the beautifully talented Rosema?

Creating a new post for the prompt is optional, but sharing is always encouraged. Let’s melt a few hearts.

44 thoughts on “What Happens Now?

  1. It bothers me how unsafe so many people feel now. We have to stick together and stay strong through this. Fighting! (Yes I’m a KPOP fan.) 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know what to say that hasn’t been said at all. This is so moving and so true and so raw. I can’t even begin to imagine how it must be for everyone out there. All I can do is spread lots of love and hope that someday, things will get better. Tons of love to you, my dear ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have families in the United States who may or may not be directly affected bu current turn of events; however i still am worried about those whose lives will change because the change in the administration.
    The stories are reflection of what love can do to keep us moving and hoping…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. three beautifully written snapshots of lives that can be potentially be affected by the recent turn of events. Three distinct situations all under the same blanket named love.

    This is moving. Relevant. I have nothing but well-wishes for this people and for you dear. There are millions of Filipino illegal immigrants. I just read it in the newspaper today. Their fate, their dreams may soon crush and burn. But love, love will keep their lives turning (hopefully). ❤

    Huuuuugs.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for the well-wishes, Rosema. It definitely is a worrisome time for all of us living here now, especially those of us in a minority :/ but like you said, love will keep things turning. Humans have always been cruel, history can prove that, but humans have also always been capable of great love and resilience. And before peace is usually chaos. I have hope for the future, not just for the country, but for the world ❤

      Like

  5. These three vignettes melted my heart and hardened my resolve to help those most at risk.
    I am here in this country because my grandfather fled tyranny and my great-grandmother fled poverty. My other grandfather and my great-uncle fought and bled for this country. Once, we were all unwanted immigrants.

    Liked by 1 person

          1. And share it especially to anyone scared or worried. This is a ray of hope. If it pans out, maybe the next four years won’t be as bad as we all fear. Bernie will work hard to moderate the extremism You Know Who built his platform on.

            Liked by 1 person

  6. lovely writing style, no gaps, just flowing into each other, held together by a common thread, what is it? Love, hope or the resilient human nature, reading a piece like this stirs the mind and soul. Really loved your story telling, exquisitely laid out.

    Liked by 2 people

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

