[Poetry] Stronger

“Leave me alone,” Love spat as she curled up on the couch.

Pain silently refilled Love’s glass of wine.

“I said, leave me alone!” Love dissolved into choking sobs. She wrapped her arms around herself for protection. With a gentle touch of his finger, Pain shattered the shield like glass.

“Why won’t you leave me alone?” There was no energy left in her words. Her heart pumped desperately to keep her alive.

“You know I can’t, Love. Please stop fighting me.” Pain reached over to tuck a strand of hair away from Love’s soft skin. “Let me help you.”

A whimper escaped Love’s lips as she let Pain envelop her in his embrace. 

“When this is all over Love, you’ll be stronger than you ever thought possible.”

© Jade M. Wong 2016


Written for November Notes: Day 19 – Pain Told Love and Day 20 – Floodgates, hosted by the lovely Sarah and Rosema.

I know, I didn’t think it was possible for me to be this behind on the prompts, but I am nothing if not determined. I will see these prompts to the end!

 

20 thoughts on “[Poetry] Stronger

    1. You don’t think so? I’ve always thought that pain follows love, at least in the beginning. That’s why we get our hearts broken, and that’s how we learn to get stronger. Eventually, we find the right person and true love. Perhaps that’s my hopeless romantic side coming out >_<

      Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

