[Poetry] A Toast

Here’s to Cupid aiming his arrows accurately
To lost love being found.
Here’s to being nice (and a little naughty!)
For Santa all year ‘round.

Here’s to friendships, stretched thin from wear
Built up like a house of cards.
Here’s to friendships, triple knotted with care,
Built to last when things get hard.

Here’s to laughing on the couch with a glass of wine
To empty tissue boxes and sad love songs.
Here’s to enjoying the little moments of frozen time
To blasting the music and singing along.

Here’s to keeping our heads up high
When we’re crawling in the dirt.
Here’s to learning how to say goodbye
To letting go of all the hurt.

Here’s to checking off our bucket lists
To doing what makes us happy.
Here’s to a new year with new plot twists,
To a new chapter in our story.

© Jade M. Wong 2016


HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE! 

This is a new year poem I wrote a few years ago, and I always love revisiting it as the years pass. I’m sharing it with you all in the hopes that 2017 will be a year dedicated to keeping our heads high, to checking off our bucket lists, and to overcoming the plot twists in our story.

26 thoughts on “[Poetry] A Toast

  1. such a special poem to me, everything tied up neatly and says all about the year to come, hopes, dreams, wishes and tender moments. you write so beautiful poetry Jade, I really loved this one the most!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. same here sweetie, gloomy and dark and rainy but just the way i like it, I am my own sunshine I like to believe and love the cool weather the monsoon brings. I am happy i could bring a little sunshine from the equator your way Jade. Hope its not gloomy in your heart my dear friend. Tell me and I will sing you a song!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I am my own sunshine -> I absolutely love that. And it’s so true! We have to make our own sunshine and our own happiness sometimes. Aww, I wish I could sing you a song, I mean technically I could but I would be horribly off key soooo LOL. Your kindness is enough, Gina. ❤

          Liked by 1 person

          1. We would be off key together then! Yes we have deep joy and sorrow inside us just a matter of which we chose to allow to control our world. You bring lots of joy into mine in small strong ways. For this I will be forever grateful our paths crossed.

            Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

