[Flash Fiction] Collide

What happens when a beat-up old truck runs over a giant plastic heart?

***

“I’m so sorry! Are you okay?” He struggled with the red door of his truck, cursing its rusted hinges.

“I’m okay! But my heart’s broken.”

“Your what?” After resorting to a furious kick to open the door, he rushed to the front of his car where a blonde-haired girl was brushing some gravel off her jeans. She pointed to a red plastic heart, broken and trapped under the front wheels of his truck.

“How do you propose we fix my heart?”

***

What happens…is love.

© Jade M. Wong 2017


100ww_w5-laphotographie
Credit: Stephanie of La Photographie
Credit: Mike Vore

Haven’t done a double prompt combo in some time, but these two photos just sparked a light bulb. Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, and for 100 Word Wednesday: Week 5

36 thoughts on “[Flash Fiction] Collide

  1. What a surprisingly sweet perspective! It could have totally gone another way 😉 I’m so happy that you’re challenging yourself and using multiple challenges in your writing!! I’ve tried it a couple times, but I often end up writing two instead of one 😉 Thank you for a cheerful tale ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love how you not only kept a light tone with this piece, but also carried so much life and possibilities in the characters. There’s a whole lot waiting to be said. You hooked me in and left me wanting to read more. Great job with this prompt!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. oh you have such imagination and romance just oozes out of every pore! this is the sweetest story I have read, ever – he cared enough to look – when she said – my heart is broke, that melted mine – i am going to remember this story – and it is going to inspire me for something else – wish we could coffee together Jade – its like I am missing my high school friend. Take care dear!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Awww gosh, thank you ❤ Your words never fail to bring a big silly smile to my face. If this story does inspire something for you, don’t forget to send me a link! I’ll be the first to read and love your work! I too wish we could grab a cup of tea or lunch or something together. Until that day comes, we shall always have our cozy WordPress corners 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I would send iy to you immediately – when the inspiration has time to settle – I feel I am in a whirlwind these days. Yes coffee/tea/whatever with you sounds an amazing deal. Like having you in my cosy corners. Thank you for always bringing sunshine into my days!

        Liked by 2 people

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

