[Criminal Minds Fanfic] Did You Know?

Spencer’s hand knocked against mine, again, as we strolled down the glittering street.

“Did you know, in the colonial era, streetlights were lit by candles inside glass vessels? Can you imagine what the colonials would think if they saw the streetlights today?” He pointed above to the row of fluorescent angels that adorned the path.

“I think streetlights might be the least of our Founding Fathers’ worries if they saw the country today,” I said, reaching for Spencer’s hand. One might have thought I tazed him the way he jumped out of his skin. I laughed. “Did you know your hand’s been hitting mine all night? Thought I’d make it easy on you, unless you don’t actually want to?”

“That’s not—I have slight germaphobia.”

“Oh God—I didn’t mean—I’ll take my hand back now.” I tried to tug my hand out of his grasp, but he held on tighter, his fingers wrapped securely around mine.

 “Did you know, I kept hitting your hand because I was trying to get myself to hold it?”

© Jade M. Wong 2017


 Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, and is a standalone sequel to My Definition of Gorgeous.

It’s Valentine’s Day, and I’m in a Spencer Reid state of mind *sighs*.

32 thoughts on “[Criminal Minds Fanfic] Did You Know?

    1. An original character was narrating this, not one from the show. I feel like if Spencer were to have a love interest, it would not be with anyone in the cast so far, so I always imagined him with someone new 🙂

      Glad you enjoyed this Mandi! Thank you for reading ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve never watched Criminal Minds, but this was as always adorable! I did snicker out loud when he revealed why he kept bumping his hand against hers (yours?). Now, I’m just going to go off and Google the characters…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thanks! It’s an ever greater compliment when you can enjoy the fanfiction without being a fan of the show, I think. I’m glad you found this adorable 🙂

      P.S. It is sooo not my hand I was writing about. Nope. Definitely not.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think those would be the best types of fanfiction – enough lore for those people in the know to enjoy it, but not so obscure you can’t appreciate the story! Also… apologies, my mistake! Definitely not your hand xD

        Liked by 1 person

  2. oh and that sounds exactly like what Spencer would say – somehow you always manage to capture them so well in your fanfic and this one so lovely for Valentine’s Day too. He sounds so endearing trying to hold your hand while battling his phobia! I like how you were so brave to say those words too! – would you write one with Hotchner one day?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thanks Gina! I’m so glad this little fanfiction was well received. I find Spencer very easy to write, probably because he’s my favorite character and I may have spent way too much time daydreaming about him sighs. I’ve never attempted a fanfiction with Hotchner as the main character, but it sounds like an interesting challenge, and I’ll do it just for you! When one of the future photo prompts inspires my muse, you’ll be the first to know 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know you like Spencer and probably daydream about him as much as I did Hotchner back in the day. It might prove to be a challenge only you can accomplish! I will wait patiently and let the right prompt inspire you to bring H to the fore. He is my favourite – dark and brooding and full of coiled tension – ok gonna stop here. But you did really lovely on this piece – I am still picturing the two holding hands and the way Spencer gives the lopsided grin to Jade! ohhhh!

        Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

