[Writer’s Quote Wednesday] Real

“Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean it is not real?”

-Albus Dumbledore, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

REAL

It wasn’t real
And yet it was
As real as
A daydream because
That is how I know I loved you.

Or as real as
Your cologne that lingers
In every breath of air
Between my fingers
That felt as solid as you.

Because if it wasn’t real
Then why are there memories
Playing in my head
Like a drunken reverie
Who did I love, if not you?

© Jade M. Wong 2017


I was tagged by Rosema over at my Instagram account for a quoetry challenge, where you take a famous author’s quote and write something interpreting it. Sooo…a Writer’s-Quote-Wednesday-esque challenge, eh? Challenge accepted!

What do you guys think? Is it real if it is only happening inside your head?

*****

It starts with a quote, but where it ends…that’s the surprising part.

Originally an event hosted by a fellow blogger friend, Writer’s Quote Wednesday was discontinued. However, I missed this weekly dose of inspiration so much, I decided to continue it on my own.

37 thoughts on “[Writer’s Quote Wednesday] Real

  1. Lovely interpretation of the quote Jade 🙂 especially these lines; “Or as real as your cologne that lingers in every breath of air between my fingers that felt as solid as you” took my breath away!!❤️

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the quote you chose. Yes it’s real, who’s to say it isn’t? Sometimes the heart is a much better indicator of that then the end, though the mind sees things logically — but not everything’s logical — the heart has reasons reason cannot understand.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. First and foremost i’d like to say its a really beautiful poem…i cant find any other words to describe it…if there is far better than “beautiful” then i’ d go for it..

    Next, our minds are very powerful… we can make things happen if we want to. If its happening in our minds then it can happen in reality; if not at the exact moment your thinking about it, but it will, in time..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you so much for the lovely comment 🙂 I’m glad you liked the poem.

      I agree, our minds are definitely some of the most powerful things in the world, and whatever happens in our minds can definitely happen in reality.

      Like

  4. I think sometimes we fall in love more with idea of a person, with only the good memory we try to hold on to, Than the actual flesh and blood. “in reply to the question posed by the poem” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I absolutely agree with you; I think more often than not, we fall in love with the idea rather than who the person actually is. Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts, Ameena ^_^

      Like

  5. Yes it’s as real as all of our thoughts and feelings. Your poem puts it all beautifully. I get carried away by my words when I write poetry so it always feels real to me.

    Mainy

    Liked by 2 people

  6. what an enchanting poem Jade! What is real and not real? Feelings we can’t see but we know are real, after shave we cant see but can smell is still real and the words people leave on our hearts like you do here, this is so real more than the chair or coffee cup real. I love how tender your heart is like a flutter in the dense woods.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. What is real? Good thing we’re not going for deep philosophic pondering, right? Lol.

    Is reality subjective or objective? Both? Are we living in a world inside a world? (Inside another world and so on… Now you have me thinking of Shrek and onions.) This sweet love poem is complex. Nicely done. Excuse me while I go watch The Matrix again for the thousandth time. 😉

    Liked by 3 people

    1. All good questions, my friend. It’s mind-boggling to ponder though. What exactly is real? Is reality, like you said, subjective or objective? Why can’t our dreams be considered real? Why can’t fiction be considered real? Is it all about perspective? Gah!

      Thanks for stopping by, Chris! Always a pleasure 🙂

      P.S. I understood that [Shrek] reference!

      Liked by 2 people

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

