[Poetry] Superpower

If I could have any superpower,
I think I would want to fly,
To zigzag around the clouds,
Like marshmallows in the sky.

With brown wings like some birds,
Or golden like the sun.
Or wings the colors of the rainbow,
Every single one.

If you too had wings like me,
Imagine the places we could go!
We could fly around the world,
And be home before tomorrow.

Yes, to fly with all the birds
Would make me very happy.
If you could have any superpower,
What would your superpower be?

© Jade M. Wong 2016


“Superpower” was originally meant to be featured in a children’s workbook along with “A Turtle’s Race. Ultimately, my poetry didn’t make the cut.

As with all my rejected poetry, however, I’m sharing this poem here with you guys. I hope you and your inner children enjoyed it!

23 thoughts on “[Poetry] Superpower

  1. this is both delightful and inspiring my dear Jade! ❤ ❤ ❤ someday, sooner or later, nonetheless i am sure it will happen, your poetry will be published too! ❤ ❤ ❤ I believe that with all my heart. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. the rhymes were amazing Jade! I felt I could fly too and wanted to be marshmallows in the sky, that was the loveliest thought and feeling ever. you have a beautiful way of expressing the beauty in your soul. If I could have a super power, I would want to be able to travel at the speed of light and come join you on this flight. thank you for such a lovely poem today.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful …its whimsical Jade…kids would have loved it as much as adults like me did..

    My children loved it..and they are now on a game “if you have superpower, what would your superpower be? “. Each of my daughters would take part until they all run out of superpowera…lol..

    Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

