[Writer’s Quote Wednesday] What Do I Know?

‘”We could change this whole world with a piano
Add a bass, some guitar, grab a beat and away we go
I’m just a boy with a one-man show
No university, no degree, but lord knows
Everybody’s talking about exponential growth
And the stock market crashing and their portfolios
While I’ll be sitting here with a song that I wrote
Saying, love could change the world in a moment
But what do I know?”

— Ed Sheeran, What Do I Know? —

Of all the songs in Ed Sheeran’s new album, this is the one that stayed with me, and I wanted to share the lyrics with you guys for this week’s Writer’s Quote Wednesday. 

We may not all be musicians, but that’s not the point, is it? The question here is, what do know? And this is what I know…

I know I’m a girl who believes that love and kindness can change the world. I don’t play the piano and I wouldn’t know an A note if it danced in front of me, but I know I want to offer something to the world. I know I want to do some good in it, to be a tiny ray of light that counters the darkness. 

I know I’m happiest when I’m writing. I don’t know if that’s enough, I don’t know if my writing is or ever will be enough for the world, but I know that I have ink running in my veins and blood flowing through my words. For now, that’s a good start. 

What about you, what do you know?


It starts with a quote, but where it ends…that’s the surprising part. Poetry, Flash Fictions, and Ramblings of my muse, all inspired by a quote.

Originally an event hosted by a fellow blogger friend, Writer’s Quote Wednesday was discontinued. However, I missed this weekly dose of inspiration so much, I decided to continue it on my own.

 

24 thoughts on “[Writer’s Quote Wednesday] What Do I Know?

  1. Another Ed Sheeran fan! Yay! I love his new album too. All his songs have such varied music to it. It’s beautiful and I often tend to listen to his songs while travelling.
    As for your post, I agree with you completely. I believe a simple, small kind gesture can go a long way in helping people. Even a hug can change the way a person feels. That’s the strength of a hug! Can you imagine what something more than that could do? Like say love…. 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I always welcome Ed Sheeran fans! And I agree, I love how different each of the songs on his album is.

      Well said about the power of a simple kind gesture. Kindness really does go far. Thank you for sharing your thoughts NJ 🙂

      Like

  2. your rambling is oooooooozing with such contagious passion my darling Jade! i cannot help but nod again and again because every word. every word. ❤

    i looooove Ed’s new album and this is one of the song that i looove the most. thank you for sharing dear!

    Liked by 1 person

        1. Omg those two are my other favorites from his album! Supermarket Flowers round out my Top Four Songs from Divide. The first time I listened to Supermarket Flowers, I couldn’t stop crying for so long. The song is so heartbreaking, but at the same time, so full of love ❤ ❤ ❤ Sigh

          Liked by 1 person

  3. “don’t know if my writing is or ever will be enough for the world, but I know that I have ink running in my veins and blood flowing through my words” – I can so relate. I feel like this all the time. I hope someday my writing will help the world or if not, be a “candle countering the dark.” Bravo! Let’s both keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Just like you guys writing makes me happy…and though at 40 (with an accomplished career and a masters degree with a very stable family life)..others still don’t agree with me when i say…love can really change the world…do i care if they believe me or not?..of course i don’t give a damn…i keep writing and keep loving….after all my thoughts could be the thought of someone else far apart and that my love could be the love of another person.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your words have resonated through this writer’s heart, to write is to breathe for me – it sometimes feels that we are writing in a vacuum but when we get echoes back, it tells us we are on the right track…your words are a gift that I happily open each time I read your latest offering!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I am a fan of all his songs though I feel this latest album is the best yet and this song we have been singing at home a lot, my kids created their own acoustic version too!! I love that it has touched you too, though I do think you have lots of music in your soul! And know what Jade your little sprinkling of love and kindness does not go unnoticed, it has made a change in me on days when I thought I had lost a little bit of that hope I read a little of you and I get it back again! And I am sure its felt by others too!! Love you!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much for your sweet words that have touched my heart, dear Gina ❤ It makes all the difference knowing that you have noticed and felt my little sprinkling of love, as you like to call it 🙂 I hope you know that you have made a change on me as well on gloomy days!

      Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

