[Flash Fiction] Blue Fire

First, the fire burned a steel gray, like the cold unrelenting metal around her finger.

Then, the fire turned to amber—not the warm golden that comforted her in Autumn, but a dark rusty yellow that made her think of factories, long abandoned.

Slowly, the fire glowed a rich crimson, until she could feel the heat emanating from its core and threatening to sear her skin.

Finally, she pulled the ring off her finger and threw it into the open jaws of the fire. The flames burst into hues of blue, spitting out sparks like tiny fireworks.

It was done.  

© Jade M. Wong 2017

Word Count: 100
Time Taken: 10 minutes


I was tagged by Celine at cykelit for a Free Style Writing Challenge. Her prompt was “Blue Fire”. I’m not happy with the ending, but at that point, I was at 9 minutes and 52 seconds and I needed to write SOMETHING, so the muse blurted out “it was done”. Considering how much of a perfectionist I am when it comes to my writing, I was surprised that I actually enjoyed this challenge. BUT THAT ENDING. GAH.

Anyway, part of the challenge is to pass it on to a few bloggers with a new prompt. So, with no pressure to accept, I hereby tag—

Anyone else who wants to give this a shot is also welcome.

Free Style Writing Challenge Rules: 

  1. Set a stop watch or your mobile to 5 minutes or 10 minutes whichever challenge you think you can beat.

  2. Your topic is at the foot of this post BUT DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH A TIMER.

  3. Fill the word doc with as many words as you want. Once you began writing do not stop even to turn.

  4. Do not cheat by going back and correcting spellings and grammar with spell check in MS WORD (it is only meant for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought flow and for you to reflect on your ability to write the right spelling and stick to grammar rules)

  5. You may or may not pay attention to punctuation and capitals. However, if you do, it would be best.

  6. At the end of your post write down ‘Word count =_____’ so that we would have an idea of how much you can write within the time frame.

  7. Do not forget to copy paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new topic for your nominees and copy paste these rules with your nominations (at least 5 bloggers).

 

Your Prompt Is…

GREEN EGGS AND HAM

32 thoughts on “[Flash Fiction] Blue Fire

  1. Hahaha, I feel weird as I haven’t read/ watched LOTR and so didn’t relate the ending to that as the others. I actually thought- good riddance to bad rubbish in terms of love, like a divorce or something. Like the suspense and you got me thinking here Jade.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The ending in no way was unsatisfactory, Jade. It, from every aspect, suited the tone and the moos of the whole story. 🙂
    And if you have written this in the time frame of ten minutes, then it really is remarkable. I enjoyed the read. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Mel! Glad to hear you like the ending 😀 I’m honestly not sure what happened. My muse is still mulling over the possibilities.

      As for the prompt, feel free to write a little something for it if you have five minutes and need a break 🙂

      Like

  3. Is it terrible the moment I read that, the first thing I thought of was Gandalf throwing the Ring into the fire? For what it’s worth – the story had a very mystical feel to it, almost like the opening of a fantasy story. Don’t worry about the ending! I think it worked, and left enough for intrigue (done what? What happened? You can’t leave me hanging!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, not terrible at all. You’re not the first person to mention the LoTR-feel of this piece, and upon reading it a second time, I realize I may have subconsciously drawn inspiration from LoTR 😄

      Glad you like the ending! Honestly…I don’t have the answers to those questions, but I’ll mull over them and see what my muse comes up with 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. They say the way to a man’s heart is through his tummy. But I must say my husband is a stunning exception. My kitchen abilities can be compared to a rat cooking. (Can they even?) That’s how worst I am.

    I remember our first breakfast together. As a new wife, I want to try to make our first morning special by preparing a breakfast in bed. I woke up earlier than I used to. I tiptoed silently out of our bedroom and proceed to my unknown jungle filled with pans and utensils I don’t even know the names.

    I opened the ref and was greeted by the good looking eggs and ham. My not-so-cook mom said the easiest breakfast meal is egg and ham. So voila! This is my best day ever.

    I giddily start my kitchen experiment. I was able to figure which is frying pan (YAY!) and its partner utensil. I put the eggs and the ham together. When i cannot toss them around I figured I am doing something — OIL!!!

    I hurried and look for it. Where? Where? Where?

    Then the sizzling sound stopped and the kitchen is filled with smoke and I can hear the running footsteps from the bedroom!

    “Hon—“. He ran straight to the stove to turn it off.

    I slowly went to him with head bow down, whispering, “I’m sorry.”

    He looked at me and to the black egg and ham with pity. He then cupped my cheeks and smile, “at least you did not turn them green.” 😀

    (9 mins. 58 seconds)
    Phew! 😀 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awwwwwww omgosh I had a smile on my face throughout this entire funny tale. This was such a cute take into newlywed married life. As someone who isn’t the best cook out there, I can totally see myself burning eggs 😄

      Thanks for participating, Rosema! This story was worth it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Before I read the rules because i read there is timer thingy I have to first comment that I looooooooove this! And that ending for me is good already. 😉 writing with time is tough and you did a great job! (okay. going back to read and i am nervous to see what challenge i might be up to. HAHA)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Aww, thanks for the tag, Jade—I wish I could play but I’m completely drained right now 😦 I’ve skipped Sue Vincent’s #writephoto prompt this week, and may even stay away from Chuck’s Friday FF challenge tomorrow. If I can recharge my batteries over the weekend I’ll try and join in the fun next week (I’ve purposely skipped over the prompt so I can’t spoil myself), and I hope your other nominees are feeling a little more energised than I am! 😦

    That said, yours was a pretty good story for a 10 minute write, and so full of delicious teasing that I want to know more about the character, and the ring, and how she came across it. The story has a slightly LotR-esque feel about it, but also has a uniqueness all of its own. I wonder how much more you could do with a full half hour. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, no worries. I understand, life can be quite draining sometimes. You have to take care of yourself, first and foremost, that’s top priority 🙂

      I’m glad you liked my story, I can totally see the LoTR-feels, now that you mention it. When in doubt, let the fandoms inspire you 😉

      Like

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

