[Poetry] Moonlit Love

One cannot find love in a cramped ballroom
So I go where wine flows plentifully,
Amidst the talks, a whiff of your perfume,
Shall we gamble? You take my hand and we
Dance away, O Love, let me take command
For our destiny was sewn in the stars.
You are my goddess and I, as your man,
Adore the form of you and all you are.
Shall we bask in the moonlight, skin to skin
Whilst the bedsheets tangle around our feet
Until your perfume permeates within
Every inch of my chambers, soft and sweet?
O my love, you may believe me crazy
But I am enamored with your body.

© Jade M. Wong 2017


Written for dVerse’s Meeting The Bar: Pop Sonnet prompt: choose a modern popular song, preferably one that everyone knows, and re-write it as a Shakespearean sonnet. The idea is to let the readers guess the song.

Any guesses? Hint: Doesn’t that last line sound familiar? *wink wink nudge nudge, guys*

For the song I used, click here

44 thoughts on “[Poetry] Moonlit Love

  1. “Shall we bask in the moonlight, skin to skin
    Whilst the bedsheets tangle around our feet
    Until your perfume permeates within”

    yeehhha! Ed will surely smile smile if or when he reads this! 😀 😀 😀 love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Damn, I need to start listening to more current popular music. All I knew was that it wasn’t Guns ‘n’ Roses. 😦 Excellent sonnet, though. Thoroughly enjoyed! (I’m also slowly catching up on posts I missed whilst performing some vital science experiments!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, well you’re not wrong when you guessed that it wasn’t Guns n Roses! Don’t worry, I’m not a big listener of current music either, I just happen to be a big fan of Ed Sheeran ^_^

      P.S. I’m not even going to ask about the experiments…have fun catching up on posts!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jade, you did a great job on ‘Shape of You’ – more sensual than the Ed Sheeran version, I think.
    I especially like the lines:
    ‘Amidst the talks, a whiff of your perfume,
    Shall we gamble?…’
    and
    ‘Shall we bask in the moonlight, skin to skin
    Whilst the bedsheets tangle around our feet
    Until your perfume permeates within
    Every inch of my chambers, soft and sweet.’

    Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

