[Flash Fiction] Red Glass & Crystals

Her steps barely left a trace on the snow as she crossed the glade. Her fingers brushed against the frozen pine needles, sending crystalline flakes falling to the ground.

He thought he could get rid of her by abandoning her here, did he? She scoffed, shaking strands of ebony locks out of her face. He should have known better.

Pausing by a river trickling past the chunks of glaciers floating in it, she placed a finger into the surface and the water hissed. A cold wave spread from her finger, freezing the typically scalding river into a skinny line of shiny red glass.

What was it he said to her?

“You’ll get out if hell freezes over.”

With tremendous strength that one wouldn’t expect in her tiny form, she stomped on the frozen river, crushing it into thin shards, each piece reflecting her livid eyes.

“Well, honey, Hell just froze. And I’m coming.”

© Jade M. Wong 2017


Credit: Ioniangraphics

 Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. Word Count: 154.

This is my foray into flash fiction writing in quite some time, so I’m hoping I did the photo justice. I feel like the story is a little choppy and not as gripping as I would like it to be, but it’s a start to warming up my and my muse’s writing chops.

Any suggestions you guys may have about improving the story is very welcome! Hope everyone is having a productive and restful weekend~

This story now has a stand-alone sequel: Traitor’s Gate.

24 thoughts on “[Flash Fiction] Red Glass & Crystals

  1. I agree with Gina, it’s good to see strength and determination from small women in stories. (As a titch myself, I have to say that! 🙂 ) You showed her character well, leaving us with no doubt that she has powers and now she means business.
    This is my first flash fiction since March 1, Jade, so I now how you feel about writing a short piece again. You did really well to draw readers into this one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I absolutely agree with you Millie! Strong women-centered stories are great in their own right, but there’s something extra amusing about the strength coming from a tiny woman! I’m also pretty small myself, which is probably why I like my female characters small and tough haha!
      Congratulations on your flash fiction foray as well Millie! Keep it up 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Welcome back! Lovely way of stretching your writing muscles after an absence. 🙂 Suggestions, hmm? Lessee… I think the opening lines could be a little more descriptive. They do the job of setting the scene just fine, but I think “crossing the glade” and “falling to the ground” aren’t your usual poetic style and could be embellished a little to add beauty with motion.

    Hope that helps! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, thank you TUS! I knew there was something in the beginning descriptions that sounded boring or predictable or just plain lazy to me, and you pointed them out perfectly. I will definitely be warming up these writing muscles a bit more and being a little more conscious about the words I use. I knew I could count on you and your keen eye 😉

      Like

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

