[Poetry] Three Gifts

His gift to me came threefold:

First, the soft whisperings
Of the wind dancing
Through the trees brushing
Against the window pane
As our bed grows cold.

Second, the rose petals
Littering the wooden floor
Like casualties of war—
The blood-red and broken
Remnants of us.

Last, a heart that grew strong
After years of being wronged
A heart that finally learned
It never needed him
All along.

© Jade M. Wong 2017


Written for dVerse’s Tuesday Poetics with the prompt of “gift”. 

I was particularly inspired by this quote from Mary Oliver: “Someone I loved once gave me a box full of darkness. It took me years to understand that this too, was a gift.”

Stunning featured photo credit goes to Paul Rysz

52 thoughts on “[Poetry] Three Gifts

  1. WOOOOOAH!!!!! that last line was slaaaaying this prompt dearie Jade!!! but but the metaphor in these lines: Second, the rose petals
    Littering the wooden floor
    Like casualties of war

    … took my breath awaaaaaay. ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You had me fooled. But I do agree with you. Heartbreaks don’t necessarily mean a bad thing. They do hurt but they in a way teach us things we never knew about ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww didn’t mean to fool you. A little misdirection, perhaps? 😉 I’m glad you agree, dear NJ! And yes, heartbreaks hurt but the most valuable lessons are sometimes hidden in the most painful experiences.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh! Just beautiful, Jade. The imagery and the realization that our true strength shines in times of heartache is amazing. I loved all of the quotes that Lillian shared, especially the Mary Oliver quote that you have here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I agree, it is in our moments of pain and darkness that we discover the power of our light 🙂 I also loved all the quotes that Lillian shared, but this Mary Oliver quote really hit it off with the muse haha

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Last, a heart that grew strong
    After years of being wronged
    A heart that finally learned
    It never needed him
    All along.

    Wow! So beautiful. So touching. It’s been a while since I last saw your posts. And I am glad I finally get to read such amazing poetry. Nicely done, Jade. Keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your imagery is beautiful here and adds so much to the post. A heart that grew strong…even after wounded…understanding that one’s value is dependent on one’s self….not on another. Well written. Enjoyed this veyr much.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. oh and you know how to lure me in, sweet whisperings, then make me sigh at the broken hearts on the floor and then make me whole again, yes we sometimes need a heartbreak to know we are strong alone, but the person that entered and then left our life did that for us, and for that we must be grateful for every encounter no matter how painful. My heart touches yours my dear!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

