[Writer’s Quote Wednesday] 13 Reasons Why

If my love were an ocean,
there would be no more land.
If my love were a desert,
you would see only sand.
If my love were a star—
late at night, only light.
And if my love could grow wings,
I’d be soaring in flight.

—Jay Asher, 13 Reasons Why—

This past weekend, I finally closed the book 13 Reasons Why, but it doesn’t feel like the story’s over. For those of you who aren’t familiar with Jay Asher’s novel (or the Netflix series based on it), 13 Reasons Why is a dual narrative told by Hannah Baker and Clay Jensen. Hannah leaves behind 13 audiotapes where she documents the 13 reasons why she committed suicide, and Clay is one of the recipients of these tapes. 

13 Reasons Why was not a book that I could finish in one sitting. This story was unnerving, heart-wrenching, and clever in its telling. There were many places throughout the book that demanded you to feel what Hannah went through, whether you liked it or not. 

This poem, however, surprised me and stayed with me. To me, this poem represented a glimpse of hope, a moment when Hannah found a way to be okay through poetry. There’s a misconception of depression that it’s just a looming dark cloud of eternal sadness, but it’s not: there are rays of light that pierce through the clouds, little moments of peace, and in those moments, you’re able to breathe again. Until it passes. And that’s the cruelness of depression: you can get a brief reprieve from the rain only to drown in the storm. 

10 thoughts on “[Writer’s Quote Wednesday] 13 Reasons Why

  1. your soul was set free in the universe to guide us Jade my dear, those were such touching lines about a character in a book, yet so representative of many of us. Depression is a sickness unseen yet very real, and the moments of light are few and rare, but in those moments it is as you have said with such clarity and truth a time we can breathe again. Sometimes taking that first gulp of air is so painful we want to collapse under the weight, but air is weightless, when did it become so heavy? I so love the way you presented this book, I found it hard to read too in one complete sitting, just like Fault in Our Stars some of the scenarios were too close to home.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow Gina, I’m stunned breathless at your beautiful interpretation of this post, and of life and depression. I love the question you ponder: if air is weightless, when did it become so heavy? I agree with you; how can something seemingly so weightless take such a heavy toll on your bodies, emotionally physically and mentally.

      P.S. Thank you for that extremely flattering compliment and I say it back to you, my dear Gina: your soul was set free into the universe to guide us as well ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. WE are here for each other, but sometimes your words just touch a part of me that seems to have been looking at the same exact spot as you, it’s spooky yet so comforting. Thank you for such lovely words for me too Jade, it is always good to fell validated for the words we write.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful poem and the words jay showed clearly depict the depth of the emotion- Love. This poem right here is a winner.
    As for the book, I started reading it a few months ago and although it was as you said, cleverly written, I had to drop it after a few chapters. I’ve already been told about the story so I kind of have a like-hate point of view regarding it. But amazing poem regardless

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I think it’s a great book and the writing style is amazing, totally engaging. But I found it really depressing, reading it was taking me to a bad place so for the sake of my mental health, I decided to give it up. 💁🏼😁

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Ahhh I completely understand. There were moments when I debated dropping the book too because it was hard for me to read as well. I am glad I stuck through it, it was a powerful read. I will not be watching the TV series though, for the sake of my mental health lol

          Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

