[Writer’s Quote Wednesday] I Sense Colors In You

“I sense colors in you. They’re strong and beautiful…and sad. I wondered what your colors were for a long time. They’re the colors of the sunset…the blazing shades of a sunset that burn just before the darkness sets in.”

—Fuyumi Soryo, MARS—

We’re traveling to Japan this week for our Writer’s Quote Wednesday. About a decade ago, I started reading manga, which is a type of Japanese graphic novel. One of the first manga series I ever picked up was titled MARS, and I devoured this love story between a shy art student and a rebellious motorcycle racer. Before I knew it, I was falling in love, having my heart broken, and crying tears—both of sadness and of joy—when I flipped the last page. I left a piece of my heart between the pages of this story and I think in return, MARS made a home in that missing piece. 

Even after reading this series more times than I can count, it’s always this quote that touches me most. This quote reminds me that both light and darkness plague our lives. It reminds me of the brilliant beauty that still exists within all the pain we feel, and that being strong doesn’t mean we’re invincible. No, being strong means we feel every ounce of that pain, but we choose to stitch ourselves up and heal.

Finally, this quote makes me wonder what my own colors are, which have probably changed as I experienced life. I think, when I was a child, my colors were all the shades of pinks and yellows: bright and full of innocence. Now that I’m a little older, a little battered, and a little wiser, I think my colors have ebbed towards deep purples and teals. After all, purple is my favorite color and there’s something about the in-between hue of teal that attracts me. 

11 thoughts on “[Writer’s Quote Wednesday] I Sense Colors In You

  1. That’s a great quote from MARS. I’ve never read any Manga – since my time, really – but I was extremely impressed by Japan when I visited earlier this year. The Japanese seem to have an intuitive piety and reverence for place/time/family which I found very attractive.
    Oh, and my favourite colour – if I have one at all – is pink. I guess Michnav is right as I’m probably in the last quarter of my life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh you’ve been to Japan? It’s on my list of places to visit one day ❤ I’m glad you like the quote. This manga series is one I highly recommend.

      P.S. I think pink is a beautiful and bright color!

      Like

  2. The thing is though, if our canvas (going by the metaphor) was only bright colours, it’d be all too bright – with a few darker colours here and there, it helps to bring the brighter colours back into contrast, for us to truly appreciate the bright spots in life. But you’re right – there’s a beauty in everything, as the quote perfectly captures.

    (I’ve never read MARS before, but I did have my fair share of manga obsessions earlier. I haven’t caught up in a while…)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You bring up a very good point. You need both the bright colors and the darker shades because at the end of the day, they compliment each other and work together to create a full picture.

      Ooh, what were some of your favorite manga series?

      Like

  3. You are right Jade our colors change as we grow older and wiser…in essence we’d change from light to dark; soft to strong …..and as we move slowlu towards the end of our time…our colors will eventually come.back to how it all begun.

    P.S. my kids are crazy about mangas too..and MARS is one …

    Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

