[Writer’s Quote Wednesday] Writers and Poets

We live in a world where writing ages like wine. Sometimes it takes years or even centuries to mature.

But if history has shown us one thing, it is the merit of writers who spoke the language of the people. Who have taken poetry out of the shadows and into the light.

Writers and poets who are ahead of their time.

They are the ones whose works will endure.

—Lang Leav, Writers and Poets—

This is not the first time my Writer’s Quote Wednesday has featured Lang Leav, and it will not be the last. Lang has a way of writing that speaks to my heart, like an old friend who understands what I’m thinking and feeling without my needing to say any of it out loud.

Lang shared this piece on her twitter recently, and it’s uncanny the way she knew this was what I needed to read. I’ve been struggling with my writing—as passionate as I am about it, writing never seems to come easily for me. I struggle to carve time to write in the first place, and when I finally sit down to write, my perfectionist ways get in the way of completing even the simplest poem. But I’d like to think that I am someone who has taken poetry out of the shadows and into the light, and at the same time, that poetry has taken me out of the shadows and into the light, even if the light flickers from time to time.

Do you have any Lang Leav favorites? Or any other favorite modern poets? Please share your loves in the comments!

14 thoughts on “[Writer’s Quote Wednesday] Writers and Poets

  1. I am an old school when it comes to poetry and Lang leav is one of the two I love, you know the other , Erin Hanson. One of my favourites (and I know this by heart ) is – you were the one I wanted most to stay, but Time could not be kept at bay. The more it goes, the more it’s gone, the more it goes away.
    This poem means so so so much to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohhh I remember that one…one of my favorites by Lang is Sahara. I know that poem by heart too ❤ “And the weather was so damn sick of being predictable, I heard it began snowing in the Sahara and I wanted to tell you I’ve changed.”

      Like

  2. I often find some wonderful ones on Pinterest Erin Hanson or (E.H.) is one Ameena alerted me to, wonderful poetry and lately your Lang Leav has made quite an impression on me. I was doing some work for a an academic client, and read a great deal about Sylvia Plath and her poetry. Very fascinating stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I identify with your struggles. I find that most of the things I write die after just a few pages. I heard Neil Gaiman say once that you have to finish what you write, even if it’s bad, because you can’t fix something you haven’t finished. I needed to hear that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is such a great quote, and I will keep that in mind the next time I feel like chucking away something I write. Neil Gaiman is absolutely right: we can’t fix something that isn’t finished. Thank you for sharing that!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. She is my idol too and I am not sure there is a favourite, she too speaks to me from a place deep within I cannot seem to understand myself, and yet she says it all so perfectly. I am so pleased to know she is your favourite too, we could probably stay up all night reading and discussing her words. You write and think that aiming perfection holds you back when instead its achieving perfection that defines you Jade. Your words are crafted not written. Not just a tumble of words, but feelings from a heart that tries to make sense of the things she absorbs. And so you poetry and stories have a magic of its very own.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Gina! Your words, once again, make my heart swoon and smile, thank you for your kindness and for taking a moment out of your day to comfort me, my friend. Your words have magic as well, and I look forward to every new piece you craft ❤

      I agree, I think you and I could definitely spend many hours discussing Lang Leav and sharing our favorites! I hope Malaysia is treating you well today ❤

      Like

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

