[Poetry] I Wish…

I wish you held my hand
Because it was held out for you,
And I wish you’d let me understand
That you were hurting too.
I wish I read more closely
All the clues you left behind,
And if you knew how you have helped me,
Could I have helped you too in kind?
But most of all, I wish your soul
Broken and cracked it was with pain,
Is resting now, at peace and whole
And that you never hurt again.

© Jade M. Wong 2017


Written as a tribute to Chester Bennington, the Linkin Park lead singer who passed away recently. Reports have confirmed that he committed suicide. I know I’m not the only one whose life has changed because of Linkin Park’s music, and Chester’s lyrics. 

Thank you Chester for everything you’ve given the world. I’m sorry the world couldn’t give you what you deserved.

I hope you’re resting in peace now. 

15 thoughts on “[Poetry] I Wish…

  1. beautiful tribute. he like all troubled souls with artistic talent like no other cannot just live, they are a flame consuming themselves. I like your gentle touch as always. the tenderness for another human soul. beautiful poem Jade. always think I have a favourite then you write a brilliant one like this and I have to say this is my new favourite

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree—a lot of the legendary artists were extremely troubled. What is it about the dark horrors of life that inspire such beautiful art?

      Thank you again for your kind words! Every time I think you can’t make me smile any more, you go and do it again! I hope you are having a wonderful day, my sweet friend 🙂

      Like

      1. I felt that way when Robin Williams took his life and I wrote about it, too. There are just people who have a huge impact on us. I think it’s perfectly natural to grieve the loss of someone who has impacted us, especially when it was such a tragic loss.

        Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

