[Writer’s Quote Wednesday] The Two Trees, A Love Story

This is a fairy tale…

A love story between a strong boy tree in a forest and an honest and innocent girl tree. 

The two trees stood next to each other at the edge of the forest, but no matter how much they loved each other, they couldn’t touch one another.

Sometimes, the wind would blow and their branches would touch, but the girl tree was still really sad.

One day, there was a fire in the forest, and the two trees were engulfed in flames. They both ended up dying, but as they were burning, the two trees turned into one cloud of smoke and climbed into the sky.

The girl tree was happy…because the two trees were finally able to become one.

—Fuyumi Soryo, MARS—

Since I’m still in a MARS state of mind this week, I decided to share another snippet from the manga series. MARS, if you remember, is a romance between an introverted artist, Kira Aso, and a troubled motorcycle racer, Rei Kashino. In Volume 11, Kira tells Rei this love story of the two trees at a turning point in both their relationship and their lives (and no, I don’t mean sex!) 

I could gush on and on about my love for this series, but instead I’ll share a couple of my favorite scenes and let the story and artwork speak for itself.

*Note: Manga series are read from right to left. 

MARS 3
Does this quote seem familiar?

MARS 1

 

7 thoughts on “[Writer’s Quote Wednesday] The Two Trees, A Love Story

    1. Ahh, I hope you love it Maria!! It’s definitely one of my favorite, if not my favorite manga series. I’ve read the series a million times and I’m sure I’ll read it a million times more in the future ❤

      Like

  1. never heard of this one before but your excerpt made me think how a simple story can hold such deeper meaning. thank you for sharing this one. and because it was so simple yet so poignant its like a stain ony brain. love it!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

