Big Dreams (aka The Black Cat Blue Sea Award)

More Shiny Things! Michael over at The Ink Owl has pointed the Black Cat Blue Sea award towards my general direction, along with three writing-centric questions, because you can’t have a blogging award without some questions apparently.

Is this Mic on? Testing, one, two? Alright, let’s do this.

1) What are your goals for writing? Where do you want it to go?

To work my butt off to become the next J. K. Rowling. I don’t think I’m dreaming too big, do you?jk-rowling-quote

2) While working on a writing project how do you keep yourself on track or task?

I don’t—my muse does, by tapping her pencil angrily on my laptop and glaring daggers at me, if I start slacking for too long. 

3) Do you use music to help you write? If yes what kind? If not what do you use to help you write?

Oh yes, I have a whole playlist on YouTube devoted to helping me write. I’ve found instrumental music works best, and my muse is a particularly big fan of Lindsey Stirling’s violin. 

Lastly, open nomination! Since this award was pointed in my direction, I will now redirect it in the general directions of all you guys. Feel free to grab the badge and answer my following three writing-centric questions if you’d like. 

the-black-cat-blue-sea-award

  1. A Day in the Life of You: What does a normal day for you as a writer/blogger look like?
  2. What’s your writer aesthetic? PJs in bed? Jeans and t-shirt at a cafe?
  3. Do you have a writing mentor? Someone who has been influential to your writing?

My muse is starting to glare at me, guys. Back to writing!

11 thoughts on “Big Dreams (aka The Black Cat Blue Sea Award)

  1. With your talent, I’ve no doubt we’ll one day see J. K. Rowling and J. M. Wong sharing shelf-space at the local book store. 😉

    I’ve answered your questions here, as I’m too lazy to blog right now (also waiting for waffle to cook):

    1) A Day in the Life of You: What does a normal day for you as a writer/blogger look like?

    Wake up, walk dogs, feed dogs, shower, breakfast, use 2.5 mile walk to work to do BRAIN PLOTTING, work, use lunch hour to scribble notes/blog/read blogs, use 2.5 mile walk home from work for MORE BRAIN PLOTTING, walk dogs, do one of my various hobbies, if I’m lucky get 5 minutes to do more scribbling. Weekends are a little more relaxed, and my only real writing time at the moment.

    2) What’s your writer aesthetic? PJs in bed? Jeans and t-shirt at a cafe?

    I do a lot of my writing in my head, whilst walking for various reasons, so it’s usually hiking boots and whatever attire the weather allows. I can’t write in bed as it’s bad posture. In summer (if it’s not raining) I sit in the garden with my shorts/t-shirt, which is great. In crappy weather I’m either at my desktop or on the sofa with my laptop and sleeping dogs.

    3) Do you have a writing mentor? Someone who has been influential to your writing?

    No, but I am influenced a lot by my fellow bloggers and fanfic writers, as well as published authors. I also follow every word of advice (except cooking meat dishes) from Chuck Wendig, because he knows how to give good advice without lording his success. I think too many authors are quick to pull the ladder up behind them, so nobody can follow.

    Anyhoo, I’ll now go do the food thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww TUS, you flatter me! blushes furiously at thought of sharing shelf space with J. K. Rowling Thanks for answering the questions! I always wonder if anyone’s actually going to do these award things lol

      -I approve of all the brain plotting! I do a lot of brain plotting during my commutes to and from work too, as well as writing my poetry during that time. A writer’s work is 24/7!

      -Ugh, I really should stop writing (and reading) in bed because you’re right about the bad posture, but it’s so comfy! I like the image of having sleeping dogs nearby as you write—very serene.

      -I 100% agree with Chuck Wendig! I love his blog, his humor, and his style.

      Hope the waffles came out tasty 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Don't Eavesdrop, Join The Convo ~

